Review #126: Ketchup French Fries 「ケチャップ フレンチフライ」

04Sep11

First thing, this isn’t a Japanese product, though I did find it at Nijiya – which is a Japanese market. It’s from Taiwan, or at least it was manufactured there, distributed in CA though.

Second, during the haul, I didn’t understand why they called it Ketchup French Fries. If, however, I had actually turned the package around (which, I have no idea why I didn’t…), I would’ve realized that it said “Enjoy Crispy and Crunchy potato sticks with tasty Ketchup flavor!”. Yup, so it’s ketchup-flavored, that’s why.

Taste:
It also says “once you eat, you can’t stop!”. That, happened to become true for me. I went through almost the whole bag, but I stopped myself because I wanted to eat some while I was writing this review.

The size kind of surprised me. I thought it would be similar to Jagabee or Jyagariko, but it isn’t. It’s much thinner and smaller, which I suppose is what made me blow through it faster (having to grab a bunch at a time).

The smell is very much like french fries, with ketchup. Like the packaging says, it is crispy&crunchy. The taste is very unique, and familiar at the same time. It has the sweet tartness of real ketchup, but also a little bit salty.

It tastes astonishingly close to what a real, fresh french fry would taste like. It’s really unbelievable. The only difference – aside from the size – is the texture, which is more crunchy than regular french fries. Although, there are those tiny bits that are crunchier in real fries.

I don’t think there are any like, I don’t actually know what they’re called, but I guess, chemicals? Or like, hmmm… Anyways, it’s natural (ish) ingredients. The ingredient list says “potato, vegetable oil, seasoning, tomato powder, salt, spice (onion, garlic, chili pepper), vegetable powder”. Yeah….

And another good thing about this product is the packaging design. No, it isn’t resealable (I wish it was, that’s the only thing that could make this better). But it has TWO openings. They actually tell you that “when content becomes smaller, make an opening from the middle of the package”. This is really convenient and thoughtful of the manufacturers. I didn’t rip it, because I’m a little OCD about that – I don’t like to ruin packaging. Which is why, I tried to open this just by pulling at it, rather than peeling. But I couldn’t, it was too tough.

Nutritional Facts:
Net Wt: 1.8oz (50g)
Serving Size: 50g
Calories: 268.4
Total Fat: 16g
Sat Fat: 7.3g
Cholesterol: 0mg
Sodium: 400mg
Total Carbohydrate: 27.7g
Dietary Fiber: 2.6g
Sugars: 0.7g
Protein: 3.4g
Vitamin C: 4.4%
Calcium: 2.3%
Iron: 5.6%

Cost:
I got this for $2.49.

Next: Jyuu-C : Gold

I would actually consider buying this again, if I were ever in the mood for it.

One Response to “Review #126: Ketchup French Fries 「ケチャップ フレンチフライ」”

  1. 1 Tiff b.

    i just found your blog and i have to say, love the reviews on the japanese candy. how do you find some of your flavors in the US??? because i’m currently living IN japan and i can’t even find the flavors you’ve tried!!! D: i couldn’t even find the flavors when i lived in the US! you must be very good at finding rare-flavored treats!

    keep up the good work! :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

