Review #2: Ramune Iro Iro 「ラムネいろいろ」

25Jan10

 

ラムネいろいろ
or Ramune Iro Iro.

Some explanation is necessary I believe. Well, Ramune a soda drink that originated in Japan. You may have, if you don’t live in Japan, seen it in some asian markets. It’s known for the shape of the bottle and the marble inside. They are in Codd-neck bottles. To open it, you use the cap to push the marble inward. From there on, you can drink the soda, while the marble rattles around. Afterwards, if you’d like the marble, the only way(as far as I’m concerned) is to break the bottle. The drink, if you do not wish for a marble, is also sold in plastic bottles. The flavors aren’t very unique, except for those that are specially in Japan only. I have only tried the original flavor for this drink, but I have seen Strawberry, Orange and Melon as well.

Iro, referring to my online Japanese dictionary, means colour. Which makes sense, as the bag, and the candy itself, is pretty colorful.

Now, on to the actual review.

Packaging:
Well, as you can see, the bag is colorful. It definitely lives up to its name. While looking up and down the aisle of Nijiya, this bag of candy caught my eye. For three reasons. Reason number one, being it was colorful, so it popped out. The second reason is because I had seen this candy, online, on my “research” of Japanese candies that I would like to try. And this was on the “list”. The last reason is that I absolutely LOVE Ramune. It’s a delicious drink, and I’ve had it once before in candy form. And it is seriously, one of my favorite drinks. The reason why this isn’t a Ten, despite it sounding very 10-like, is that since I’ve seen this before, it wasn’t like “Wow”. Well, personally, that’s my fault I guess. But, oh well.

Rating: 9/10

Cost:
The price I paid for this candy wasn’t cheap. But it wasn’t expensive either, especially compared to some of the other candy on the shelves. It cost me only$2.19, no tax.

Taste:
Of course, there are more than this. These, however, are all the different TYPES there are. The flavors, as you can tell from the picture on the bag, are Strawberry, Pineapple, Melon, Orange and Lemon. And they are differed by their color, except for pineapple, lemon and orange. I’m not so sure about that. Those three are all “white-ish” so it’s hard to tell. The strawberry one, is pink and the Melon is green. So that’s easy, but otherwise. I have no clue. Only, if the wrapping specifies. Since, there are so many in one package, I’m not going to seriously post about all of them, on their taste. Well, for one thing, I’ve only had Strawberry, Pineapple and Melon. (I might’ve had Lemon without knowing it) So far my favorite would have to be melon. But, that’s me. Anyways, let’s move on to the ACTUAL taste.

The texture of this candy is powdery, and that’s because it is. This candy is JUST powder in the shape of a circular disk. Which is why, the first one I had, I didn’t like. Because, I didn’t know it was just powder. So, it melted in my mouth right away. And before I could blink, it disappeared. Now, as I’ve had a few more, I can say that I’ve come to like it. Enough that I could blow through this whole bag in one day, but thankfully, I have more self control than that. Another reason that this would be possible is the fact that it just melts. And once it melts, which is very soon, it makes you want more. I have come to really love? this candy, which sucks that it melts so fast. The flavors are very good, the texture(I guess) and the presentation. I’m such a cheat, the reason why this isn’t JUST TEN, is because of the question mark. Of course, I really really like this candy. But to love it…think it’s the best. That, I’m not sure. So, this is what I say. Somewhere between Awesome and OMGreat.

Rating: 9.5/10

 

Overall:
This candy is good. Very good. But the best, I’m not sure. To be the best, It’d have to exceed my expectations. And of course, I’d have to try every candy in the world. Remember, this is me, and you are you. So if you need a definite opinion, try it for yourself.

Rating: 9/10

Rating Scale:
10- OMGGreat!
9- Awesome, but not amazing
8- Great
7- Worth it/Good
6- Okay
5- Average
4- Edible, but you could not pay me enough to buy/eat more
3- Bad
2- Terrible!
1- Inedible
0- No words can describe how bad

One Response to “Review #2: Ramune Iro Iro 「ラムネいろいろ」”

  1. I haven’t seen these in years…I remember getting them after school as a snack. :)


Leave a Reply

