Review #9: Hi-Chew Blood Orange「ハイチュウ:ブラッドオレンジ」

08Mar10

This one I’ve had for a while, before I started this blog. WAY BEFORE. So much in the past that it’s expired…(NOT BY MUCH THOUGH!) Hopefully, that doesn’t affect the taste.

 

Hi-Chew Blood Orange. (ハイチュウブラッドオレンジ)
On asian food grocer, it calls this “Hi-Chew Ruby Red Orange”. But it’s not, this is Blood Orange flavored. (or are they the same thing?) It says  ブラッドオレンジ(Buraddo Orenji), on the package.

Okay, you see here, I’m talking arguing about how this is Blood Orange, when I don’t even know what Blood Orange is, or at least, not the difference. Is it like a grapefruit? Or what? Well, wikipedia time! So, if you don’t feel like reading, I’ll simplify it. It says it “is a variety of orange, with crimson, blood-colored flesh. The fruit is smaller than an average orange…..The blood orange is often described as a hybrid between the pomelo and the tangerine, but it is actually just a mutation of a sweet orange.” Now, I have no clue what a “sweet orange” is, but I’m just too damn lazy to look it up.

Packaging:
This was my first unique Japanese Hi-Chew flavor. I’ve had Hi-Chews before this, but just the plain American ones. Like Mango and Strawberry. Then, not too long after finding my first Japanese Candy, I started looking at blogs, and I found this. I never thought I could find this. (stupid me, didn’t even think about Japantown having it) So, one day when I was out volunteering with my friend, and we finished and went to her house. We stopped at a nerarby store. I found this. And I was SO SUPRISED. I got it almost immediately. (and was stumped on the Yubari Melon Caramel, which I ended up getting later).

Anyhoo, the packaging is pretty simple. Telling what it is. It’s different from the standard American Hi-Chew packaging. (or maybe that’s just because there is a “ワ―ルドフル―ツ” [World Fruits] theme) From the picture, I can’t really tell what part of the world Blood Orange comes from. Still, this packaging isn’t special. It is…because it was my first, and also because it’s Japanese-special. But compared to the other Japanese packages, there’s nothing too special. It gets it’s job done, it’s simple, but nothing really special. Still, I like it.

Rating: A-

 

Cost:
This was expensive for a standard 10-piece American Hi-Chew. But normal for a 10-piece Japanese Hi-Chew.It cost me $1.09, “much” cheaper compared to the price at asian food grocer, which is $1.48.

Taste:
When I first had this, (as I can recall) it was good. It was different from the standard Am, but it wasn’t like “WOW!” Now, after maybe…3 months…I’ll be trying it again. (Hopefully the expiration date won’t affect it!) I don’t really know what Blood Orange smells like, but to me, this smells like Grapefruit. Which is closely related(or the same?) as the Pomelo. The smell isn’t that strong(but I can’t really smell very well anyways), and I’ve never had Blood Orange before, so I can’t say if it’s accurate or not. The piece gets immediately soft after putting it in my mouth. (Does the expiration date have to do with anything?) I can definitely taste the citrus, but I’m not entirely sure what kind of citrus. But to me, this is tasting like a normal orange. (and I think this tastes the same as before!)

The color of the piece is a kind of peachy white coating, with a pinkish middle…although shouldn’t it be red? But I guess, it’s fine. I have to say, that this tastes good. But it’s (still) not “Wow!” nor is it anything really special. I mean, with a name “Blood Orange,” I expected something…more than this. Not just a regular orange flavor. So that’s a little disappointing. But good nonetheless.

 

Rating: B+

Overall:
This was a pretty good Hi-Chew, considering it was my first. It was a bit disappointing, but still great. I would buy it again, but it isn’t on the top of my list of candies to get.

Verdict: I would buy this again, but it’s not on the top of my list.

Rating Scale:
A+ = I must have all this candy in the world!
(A- = It did a good job, but needs something extra.)
(B+ = Borderline between good and okay.)
C= Average
D= Bad
F= Inedible 

If you want to get a second opinion, read The Candy Enthusiast’s review, or try it yourself!

PS: I will go to Japantown this Wednesday, IF IT’S NOT RAINING! I most likely will go, even if it’s a drizzle. So yay! More candy! And I DEFINITELY need more of these types. The Hi-Chew/Puccho type. I’m having too many bagged ones(which you can conviently find everywhere).

One Response to “Review #9: Hi-Chew Blood Orange「ハイチュウ:ブラッドオレンジ」”


  1. 1 #16 (ハイチュー:白桃)「 Hi-Chew: White Peach」 « Sweets Blog

Leave a Reply

