Review #15: Ramune Candy 「ラムネキャンディ」

04Apr10

There are simply just too many ラムネ(Ramune) candies, that it’s hard to find the one you’re looking for. ESPECIALLY if all it’s name is “ラムネ” and there is no brand. Just like this:

Packaging:
Actually, I wasn’t the first one to spot this package, but it was my friend (An-chan) who did. She thought I was taking too long, so she kind of just grabbed a random bag, seeing that it was the “last” one. It wasn’t the last one though, there was one more. Anyways, so I looked at the package, and the price, and I decided “okay.”

Now, the packaging is…also okay. I like how they have a picture of the ラムネ drink being popped open, and I like bags with the little “window” so you can see what it looks like inside. (or at least the packaged part) Well, I like it and I have to say, it’s pretty cool. But not eye-popping.

Rating: A-

Cost:
This cost me $2.29 at Nijiya. It wasn’t exactly cheap(in my definition), but it wasn’t too overboard. After some (not so hard) searching, I found a website where you can purchase THIS ラムネ candy. It costs (obviously) more than what I paid, being $2.49. You may notice that the packaging is different. But I assure you, I am 99.8% sure that this is the exact same candy. (Whether they still have it in stock though, I don’t know.) Here is the link.

Taste:
The candy has a light blue color that just screams ラムネ. Of course, the actual drink(original) is clear, but forget about the details.  I think it definitely has that ラムネ taste. Perhaps a little bit more sweet than the actual drink. And one thing I must say, the candy doesn’t have the same fizziness that the drink has. If I were to put it in a few words, I would call this, “a sweeter, but flat ラムネ drink.” I didn’t actually notice this until my friend pointed it out to me. And now that I taste it, I must agree.

What is ラムネ to you though? Is it, the codd-bottle shape? Is it, the taste? Is it, the marble? For me, it’s the marble and codd-bottle shape. But if we’re talking about ラムネ candy. It’s the taste, and fizziness. This candy has the taste, but it’s missing the fizziness. Now, it’s not that big of a deal. Especially coming from someone who didn’t even notice at first. But I don’t know. I guess I would say, it’s not as special as the actual ラムネ drink. Now, remember how I just said that the thing about ラムネ is the bottle shape and the marble. Well, I don’t think it was intentional, but this candy’s shape reminds me of the marble. Maybe it’s just me though.

Rating: B

An-chan’s Corner:
(This is going to be a new thing. But will only appear occasionally. So, I will sometimes[if I can and if I want to] give candy to my friend and she will tell me what she thinks, and I’ll let you guys know, as a “second opinion,” if I can’t find another blog review.)

An-chan says, “It’s good. But it’s not as fizzy as the drink is.”

Overall:
The packaging is “okay,” as the taste is also “okay.” Meaning, there are billions of ラムネ candies out there, and this one, just isn’t that special.

Rating: B+

Verdict:
It’s a good candy, but I don’t see myself buying it again in the future.

Rating Scale:
A+ = I must have all this candy in the world!
(A- = Okay, but nothing that special.)
(B+ = Borderline between okay and good.)
(B = Good, just good.)
C = Average
D = Bad
F = Inedible

No Responses Yet to “Review #15: Ramune Candy 「ラムネキャンディ」”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

