Review #17: Mogu Mogu Mango Juice 「もぐもぐマンゴージュース」

15Apr10

Packaging:
The thing about this drink that stood out to me while it sat on the freezer shelf, was it’s size. I just love (most) anything that’s chibi(ちび) sized! :D I was looking for a drink, thinking maybe I’ll have some ラムネ or Calpico, since I haven’t had it in a while. And bam! This little ちび drink caught my attention. It’s ADORABLE!(:

There were…four(i think) flavors that were on the shelf: Grape, Litchi, Mango and Orange. Honestly, the pink-Litchi caught my attention first, but only because I thought it was peach. And when I found out it was Litchi, I changed my mind and decided to go with mango.

One bad thing about this drink though, is the cap. It’s a bit taller, and has more rings, so it takes more turns to open or close it. Honestly, it’s kind of annoying. And I don’t really understand the reason for it. Is it to be “child-safe,” well, it’s not exactly that, maybe they think a child would get bored of spinning it and give up. I don’t know, all I know is that sometimes I just want to leave it and not twist the cap at all. (and it could be better if there was a cute mascot ;])

Rating: A

Cost:
So first, the ちび size caught me eye. Then, obviously, I looked at the price. $.99, now to me that’s cheap(maybe not in value…since it’s small). So I thought, “Okay!” And here I am, sipping my もぐもぐマンゴージュース. Get your もぐもぐ here at the same price.

Taste:
The taste is indeed mango, yummy mango. It’s nothing really special(mango-wise), but it’s still pretty good.  If you dislike mango, well, obviously you won’t like this, or anything mango-related. (However, I absolutely love mango, so maybe I’m a bit biased.)

The bottle says that it’s mango juice 25% with Nata de Coco. What is Nata de Coco you ask? It’s Spanish, meaning “cream of coconut.” Here is the wikipedia answer, “is a chewy, translucent, jelly-like food product produced by the fermentation of coconut water and carrageenan.  It is most commonly sweetened as a candy or dessert, and can accompany many things including pickles, drinks, ice cream, puddings and fruit mixes. The product originates from the Philippines.” And there you have it.

The bottle is kind of weird, the ingredient list says:
Mango Juice(25%), Nata de Coco(25%), Fructose(4%), Sucrose(4%) and Citric Acid(0.15%)…………where is the other 41.85%????

The only thing(s) I would change about this drink is:
A) More pure mango juice(There’s only 25%!!!)
and B) If they used ACTUAL mango chunks, and not “Nata de Coco.”

Rating: A

Overall:
This is an awesome, and cute, drink, especially in line up after the Ito En “Tea Mango.” There were a few things that could have been better, but nonetheless, it’s a great drink.

Rating: A

Verdict:
I will definitely try this again, in a different flavor perhaps. (but who knows when I will, cause I always want to try something new!)

Rating Scale:
A+ = I want all of this drink in the world!
(A = Awesome, but needs a little more to be more than awesome.)
B = Good
C = Average
D = Bad
F =Indrinkable

You can kind of see the Nata de Coco.

4 Responses to “Review #17: Mogu Mogu Mango Juice 「もぐもぐマンゴージュース」”

  1. 1 Kelly

    Sounds promising :)

  2. 2 Marius

    Hello Dear,

    ………where is the other 41.85%????

    You forgat about water!!!

    Kind Regards
    Marius

    • LOL, oh yeah. Thanks :D

  3. 4 Sjan

    lOvE mango mOgu~mOgu…


Leave a Reply

