Review #22: Pepero Original

04May10

Not many pictures this time, sorry.

Packaging:
The packaging of this is very similar to that of  the Original Chocolate ポッキー. Both boxes are:

  • red
  • show the brand in the top corner(Glico on the left-hand side,  Lotte on the right-hand side)
  • the name of the snack in the middle
  • both names start with ‘p’
  • both have pictures of bunches of the sticks on the front
  • ポッキー says  “chocolate cream covered biscuit sticks” while Pepero says “stick biscuit&chocolate”
  • both have the name and brand with two sticks on the side of the box

No, it is no coincidence. First of all, Lotte is actually not a Japanese company. But, a South Korean company. And Pepero[the site is in Korean…] (빼빼로) is a Korean imitation of the famous Glico-brand ポッキー.  (Click here for the English site)

So, it’s an imitation. Or as Wikipedia says, “inspired.” I prefer the term “imitation,” though. Because, if it were only “inspired,” why is it so alike the actual ポッキー. At least let there be some kind of difference, besides the name and the language.

Well, I guess there is one “difference.” It’s that the inside, the packaging-packaging is bigger and “thicker” than the regular ポッキー. It holds all the sticks, and is just one big fat package. Which, I’m not too sure is really that great. (no self-control help there…not that there’s much to have self-control for)

Also, another bad thing besides it being just a fake is that the stick bunches on the front, look very untempting.

Rating: C

Cost:
My mom bought this at some kind of…..Vietnamese-ish market, or something. I don’t really remember. And, I don’t really remember the price either…but I think it was pretty cheap. Less than a dollar, for sure. “Unfortunately,” I can’t find a place to buy this snack online, so if you want to give it a try, you may have to seek it out on your own. Sorry!

Taste:
It tastes just like ポッキー. Just like ポッキー. It’s really just a biscuit stick, coated with a thin layer of chocolate. It even has the same “sound,” I guess you could say.

It is good, but that’s because ポッキー is good.

Rating: B

Overall:
It’s not that I dislike this snack. It’s good. But because it’s an “inspiration”, I don’t want it to be about exactly the same. There has to be some kind of difference.

Rating: C

Verdict: I think I would be better off just getting the Original ポッキー.

Rating Scale:
A+ = I must have all this snack in the world!
(B = Good, but it needs more “originality”)
(C = Average)
D = Bad
F = Inedible

Read ZOMG, Candy!’s review of the Nude Pepero here.

Read Foodstuff Finds’ review on the Almond Pepero here.

2 Responses to “Review #22: Pepero Original”

  1. I’ve never actually seen pepero, and I just heard of it at the end of last year haha. I like pocky as much as the next person, but I don’t often eat it. I guess I will stick with pocky hehe^^

  2. Haha, I’ve never heard nor seen it until this post. Yeah, I would recommend sticking with the Pocky(;


Leave a Reply

