Review #31: Ramune: Pineapple「ラムネ:パイナップル」

09Jun10

I got this ラムネ drink as a leftover from 私の日本語のクラスのパーティー(a party). There were four flavors brought: Original, Melon(メロン), Strawberry(ストロべりー) and Pineapple(パイナップル). I had the メロン one during the party, and it was pretty good. Original, メロン, and ストロベリー went real quick. But there were a bunch of パイナップル leftover. Feeling bad for it(not really, I just wanted another one and that was the only flavor left), I picked it up. And decided to review it(actually, I just felt bad about drinking another one during the party).

As you all (should) know, ラムネ is special for two things. Number one, it’s codd-neck shaped bottle. And number two, the marble that stays rolling around the middle of the bottle forever, until you decide to whip out a hammer and break the bottle.

ラムネ has two manufacturers. One is Sangria and the other(which is the manufacturer of this bottle) is Shirakiku. I think most people, like me, would say that Sangria is the “main” manufacturer. (Well, I would only say that because I didn’t know there was another manufacturer.)

Packaging:
I do like the packaging of
ラムネ, that’s a given. And this bottle is no different from the rest. I believe that the bottle design is set to target little kids, with the marble and all. And yes, as a [younger] child, I was drawn in by that. I still am, somewhat, but nowadays, it’s mostly the actual drink that I like, not just the marble.

And I think that’s for most of me, and my classmates, as you can see from this picture:

Rating: A

Cost:
I didn’t buy it, as I wasn’t in charge of providing drinks. But it probably cost the usual, about $1 something. Buy it at Asian Food Grocer for $1.78.
I have to show you this, the weirdest ラムネ drink flavor ever! If anyone dares to try it, tell me because I really want to know how it tastes(same price $1.78): CURRY ラムネ!

Taste:
This drink, just like the rest, has that ラムネ flavor. The pineapple flavor seems like it’s canned pineapples, not the “fresh” kind. It’s still good, and not as strange as everybody would’ve thought(which I know I thought at first). Still this drink isn’t that amazing, or wow-y. In fact, after a bit, the flavor is toned down. There’s still a slight ラムネ flavor, but the pineapple flavor becomes an aftertaste. Perhaps, it’s because I drank this with a cold.

Nutritional Facts:
Serving Size: 1 bottle(200ml)
Serving Per Container: 1
Calories: 90
Total Fat: None
Sugar: 18g

Rating: B

Overall:
This flavor didn’t really knock me over. I think I would just stick with the original, or some other flavor.

Overall Rating: B+

Verdict:
I wouldn’t buy this, and would only recommend it if you’re a pineapple fan and must try everything pineapple flavored.

Rating Scale:
A+ = Perfect, or close to it.
(A = Great, but it’s a bit too old for me now.)
(B+ = Borderline between great and just good.)
(B = Good.)
C = Average
D = Bad
F = Undrinkable

Read The Japanese Snack Food Review’s thoughts on this drink here.

No Responses Yet to “Review #31: Ramune: Pineapple「ラムネ:パイナップル」”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

