Review #32: Sangaria Milk&Coffee 「サンガリアミルク&コーヒー」

12Jun10

1, 2, サンガリア!
That’s Sangaria’s logo, a play-on “一、二、三” (1, 2, 3)

This is not the first time I’ve encountered a drink by Sangaria. However it is the first time (that I remember) I’ve purchased a drink by this brand, and it is also the first time that I’ve boughten a Japanese coffee drink.

I went out of the city(by bus!) with one of my best friends. That mall only has one Japanese store, Daiso. But I like this one as it’s bigger than the one in my city.

Packaging:
This drink isn’t really outstanding. It’s pretty plain, simple and to the point: Milk and Coffee. Do we really need a cute mascot for every product? For me, the answer is no. Though most of the time I prefer a cute mascot, this drink doesn’t require one.

Still, the real reason I got this was because it “stood out”. It was down between this and another Peach drink. It stood out because it was not Ramune flavored like most of the other drinks on the shelf. I chose this over the Peach drink because that one “needed” to be put in the freezer, or something. But I see myself getting that one next time I go to the city Daiso(which may quite possibly be next week).  

Rating: A-

Cost:
This was bought at Daiso for the regualr $1.50 price. Get it at Pacific Mercantile Company for $1.95 or get it on “sale” for $2.45 at Very Asia.

Taste:
I didn’t really expect much out of this drink, so it wowed me a bit. First of all, there’s a cold sweetness that comes from the milk. Of course, the first sip, I found it strange, but after a while, I got used to it. Then, comes the coffee taste. It’s the bitter coffee taste, but not too bitter. It’s a bit disappointing though, as the coffee flavor is watered down by the milk. Towards the end, the coffee flavor becomes more vibrant, but I would’ve liked it if the coffee flavor wasn’t toned down.

It was really hot when and I was walking. But this drink didn’t help quench my thirst. While the cold milk cooled down my tongue, once the mouthful was gone, I was thirsty again. This shows that water is really the best drink for when you’re dehydrated. But it’s a good drink, nonetheless.

Nutritional Facts:
Serving Size: 240mL
Serving Per Container: about 2
Calories: 100
Total Fat: 1.5g
Sugars: 18g
Calcium: 5%

Rating: A

”..., ..., ホームメイドタイプ” "..., ..., Homemade Type" (would someone like to translate the first part for me?)

Overall:
This drink is pretty good, I just wish it weren’t watered down because the coffee flavor really can shine if given the chance.

Overall Rating: A

Verdict: If looking for a drink that I’m familiar with, I may think about choosing this.

Rating Scale:
A+ = Perfect, or close to it.
(A = Awesome, I just wish it weren’t watered down.)
(A- = Great, but kind of plain.)
B = Good
C = Average
D = Bad
F = Undrinkable 

No Responses Yet to “Review #32: Sangaria Milk&Coffee 「サンガリアミルク&コーヒー」”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

