Review #33: Lion Ramune Stick Candy 「ライオンラムネキャンディー」

15Jun10

I don’t think I’ve heard of the brand, Lion, before this candy. But from looking at the website, it seems a bit familiar. Not the lion mascot, but the other little people. After looking at the product page, I realized why it looks familiar- because I’ve seen the Lion Kids Candy before(but have not boughten it…yet)

Packaging:
As you [may] know, I have a thing for ラムネ flavored candies. So, that’s probably what drew me to this candy.

Now though, I don’t think this packaging is any bit “special”. It states “ラムネキャンディー” but that’s just it. It doesn’t state how this candy is different from others.  I think the ラムネ bottle picture looks strange. It has the “codd-neck bottle shape”, but not exactly.

Rating: C

Cost: I bought this at Nijiya for $1.69. Buy it at eFoodDepot for $2.30.

Taste:
The packaging claims this candy is ’シュワッとさわやか’ Fizzy and Fresh. Well, we’ll see about that.

The color of this ラムネ reminds me of a bar of soap. That doesn’t make it very tempting at all, unless you like the taste of soap…which I’m not sure, and I hope, nobody does.

Nevertheless, I have to give it a try. As soon as it’s in my mouth, I can taste the flavor. It’s sweet and “fizzy”, but I taste no “fresh”. It’s pretty grainy and the ラムネ taste isn’t that clear. It still has the sweet notes, but not very ラムネ-like.

Nutritional Facts:
Net Weight: 1.4oz (40g)
Serving Size: 1 pack
Servings: 1 (10 pieces)
Calories: 136
Total Fat: 0.2g
Sugars: 10g 

Rating: B+

Overall:
As you can see, I don’t have much to say about this candy. It’s okay for a piece of candy, but it’s not very good as a piece of
ラムネ candy. Mainly because there’s nothing really special about it.

Overall Rating: B

Verdict: I won’t be buying this again.

Rating Scale:
A+ = Perfect, or close to it.
(B+ = Borderline between great and just good.)
(B = Good.)
(C = Average)
D = Bad
F = Inedible

I can’t find another review for this, so you can only take mine, and your own judgement.

No Responses Yet to “Review #33: Lion Ramune Stick Candy 「ライオンラムネキャンディー」”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

