Review #41: Meiji Chocorooms 「”チョコルーム”」

04Jul10

“Makes the world a little sweeter.”

I have heard of Chocorooms about a million times before this review. But I’ve only tasted it once before this. And that time, I only had one Chocoroom. One day in class I was hungry, like really hungry, so I asked my friend if she had anything to eat. She said she did and took out a box of Chocorooms. I took one. And before either of us knew it, all of our classmates pounced on us (well…her) and asked for some too.

That time, I felt bad. Because even though I only had one, and didn’t eat her whole box, it was probably my fault that she attracted all the other people. For that, I felt bad, so I think I apologized…but it was a while ago, so I don’t really remember.

I happen to love mushroom shapes, but not the actual thing. I can not stand mushrooms, they taste disgusting. But mushroom shapes are adorable for some reason. I’m just so weird like that, but I can bet that I’m not the only person.

Packaging:
The box is pretty American, so I don’t know if this is something like an export, or only for America or something(there isn’t a single Japanese character on there!) Still, I’d say the box is pretty good. It’s not that it’s extremely flashy or cutesy, but it’s got its own thing going on. For one thing, it does it’s job – showing what the snack is and giving an image. As for attracting attention, I’d have to say that it’s not very good, but it’s not terrible either.

I wasn’t really “attracted” to this box. I merely wanted to try a snack that’s common, and cracker like. Chocorooms were one of those snacks that I kept logged into the back of my mind for later on. It’s one of those snacks that I overlooked for more flashy and attractive snacks, and just thought I’d do it at some point in my life.

The only “bad” point about this packaging(though it might be only because I’m an idiot) is how to close the box. It’s hard to explain, but I’ll try. The box is perforated so you just rip the entire top by pulling up from the ‘open’ tab. On the “inside” of the box, there’s a slit that’s like an arc and split down the middle. It took me a couple minutes to figure out how to close the box. So, you pull the ‘open’ tab part down and slip the arc(above the words ‘open’) into the top part of the slit of the “inside” of the box. Okay, that was a crappy explanation. But yeah, so the closing of the box is difficult…for idiots like me.

Rating: B

Cost:
I bought this on the city Daiso trip for $1.50. Buy it for $1.99 at World Market.

Taste:
It was a milk chocolaty smell as soon as the bag was opened. There is “three different parts” to this taste. First, chocolate cap. It is DELICIOUS. It’s sooo good, the milk chocolate-ness of it all. Then there’s the cracker stem. The stem, if eaten by itself, is not great. Not great at all. It’s really bland. I mean, there is some flavoring, but for the most part it’s bland. Then there is all together. All together, this little mushroom cracker is AMAZING. I love it!

The texture is crispy and creamy. (I especially like the crispiness) And the taste is just -mwah- perfect. At this point(after finishing the photo session), I can’t control myself from eating the whole entire bag in one sitting. There isn’t any problem I have with this snack, and nothing I would change about it. And the whole mushroom theme is an even bigger plus.

(Note: After five days, the cookies were still as fresh and crispy.)


Nutritional Facts:
Net Wt: 3.13oz (89g)
Serving Size: 11 pieces (1.1oz [30g])
Servings: about 3
Calories: 160
Total Fat: 8g
Saturated Fat: 7g
Sugars: 14g
Protein: 2g
Calcium: 4g
Iron: 4g

Rating: A+

Overall:
The packaging isn’t really “much” and it’s really American, so it’s not AMAZING for a Japanese sweets blog, but it’s still good. The cookies, on the other hand, are Ah-may-zing! I really really like them. They taste super yummy, and are super crispy and overall just super. I really have to control myself to not eat them all.

Overall Rating: A-

Verdict:
I will try to control myself(although I’ve already eaten about half the bag…or more) as I finish it off. I would definitely think about getting these if I ever want a yummy snack, and don’t want to try something new. And I absolutely, positootely recommend these.

Rating Scale:
(A+ = Perfect, or close to it.)
(A- = Pretty good.)
(B = Good, a little too American for this Japanese sweets blog.)
C = Average
D = Bad
F = Inedible

Read Candy Review, Candy Yum Yum or Candy Addict’s reviews on Chocorooms.

2 Responses to “Review #41: Meiji Chocorooms 「”チョコルーム”」”

  1. 1 Rini

    Seconding your review – on all counts. I still can’t figure out how to close this goddamn box! This is bad because an open box is just an invitation for me to gorge on these little tasties…

  2. 2 Ian

    To close the box, fold the part that you grabbed to open it. Fold it up so the part you folded is facing inward and the little semicircle thing is facing down. Then jam the semicircle into the little two-part flap thingy.


Leave a Reply

