Review #42: Happy Tanabata! 「七夕」

07Jul10

Note: Just an update on the HK haul, my cousin’s cousin has come back so now I just have to wait to receive the stuff.

今日は七夕です。(7・7)
Today is the Tanabata Festival (7/7).  Tanabata is a star festival. It’s most famous for (at least according to me), its legend.

The legend is of two lovers who are separated by, 天の川 (Amanogawa), the sea of stars, of the Milky Way. The princess, Orihime (織姫) [Weaving Princess] wove beautiful clothes for her father on the bank of the 天の川. Her father loved the clothes she wove, but 織姫 was depressed because the job prevented her from meeting and falling in love with anybody. Her father, 天帝 (Tentei) [Sky King], worried for his daughter, introduced her to 彦星(Hikoboshi) [Cow Herder Star] who lived and worked on the other side of the Milky Way. The two fell in love immediately and married. But once they married 織姫 would not make any more clothes and 彦星 allowed the herds to stray all over the heaven. 天帝 was angered by this and separated the two. 織姫 was depressed at the loss of her husband and asked in tears for her father to let them meet. Therefore her father allowed them to meet once a year, on the seventh day of the seventh month on the lunisolar calendar. The first time they tried to meet, they couldn’t as there was no bridge to cross. 織姫 cried so much that a flock of magpies came and promised to make a bridge with their wings. If it rains on 七夕, the magpies cannot come and the lovers have to wait another year before they can meet.

It’s such a beautiful story. (sob) I wish I could review Calpis(カルピス) as the decorated theme on it is based on the Milky Way and 七夕, but unfortunately, I don’t have any at the moment.

(The last half of these pictures are crap because my sister stole the camera and so I had to use the videocamera’s camera…)

I’ve seen this candy around and around. My first encounter with it was about 2 years ago, but it was with the coke version of this candy. At that time, I think I saved it for a while, thinking to treasure it, but it ended up not tasting that great. Although I’ve seen this around a lot, it took me a while to finally buy it.

I was on a trip, looking around at my local market. That day, I wanted to come home with something, anything, so I bought this. But I throughly regretted it a couple weeks later, as I found it for cheaper in two places. That’s why I had high expectations for this, even though I’ve had one of these candies before(I believe it was the melon-flavored one).

Packaging:
The packaging is pretty attractive, in terms of catching someone’s attention. It’s colorful and the colors go well together. The window of the bag is giant enough to see what the content looks like. And they’re color-coded (for those who can’t read Japanese), blue is for “cider”, yellow is for grapefruit, and green is for melon.

The way the individual candies are packaged is definitely unique. In a triangle shape. Although it’s unique and cool, I don’t really see the point of it. It doesn’t symbolize anything – as far as I can tell. And it doesn’t allow for more room in the bag, or make opening the candy easier(it actually makes it harder). So although it’s cool, I don’t see the point of it.

Rating: A

Cost:
I lost the receipt for this,
but I think I bought it at my local market for $2.29, which is expensive as there were many other places to get it for much cheaper. Get it on Asian Food Grocer for $2.48 or on eBay $3.99.

Taste:

Cider 「サイダー」
At first sniff, it reminds me of ラムネ(Ramune). As the same with the first taste. Though the only cider I’ve ever had, was apple. I’m pretty damn sure that this so called “cider” isn’t really cider, but more than not, it’s ラムネ. The tastes lasts for a long time…(can be interpreted as a good or bad thing, for me though, it’s bad). This means two of things.

Number 1, it’s false. “Fake advertisement” (or whatever), because there’s no way this is “cider” flavored, because it’s ラムネ-flavored, I’m 99.9% sure and willing to bet 7/8ths of my life on it. Number 2, it’s just another ラムネ candy with nothing really special about it at all.

Rating: 1/5

Grapefruit 「グレープフルーツ」
I’ve never in my life had anything grapefruit except for the fruit itself. (and possibly, though slight, the juice) I can’t really smell anything, especially not the scent of grapefruit. The taste however, is definitely grapefruit. The super sour kind of grapefruit, but the actual candy is sweet.

It has the grapefruit taste, right down to the core. Whether that’s actually a good thing or not, I’m not really sure. I guess it’s good since it’s “authentic” or whatever, and it’s also good for people who like the fruit. But for people like me, who don’t like the fruit, that much, it’s not that good.

Rating: 4/5

(The color is not actually this cheese color in reality.)

Melon 「メロン」
Here’s a flavor I’m familiar with and used to be certain that it would taste yummy, but now I’m not so sure. The smell is definitely melon-y, reminding me of another melon candy that Kasugai made(which also makes me feel a bit better about trying this piece). It tastes similar to that other candy, except this one is fizzy and a bit sourer. It’s probably the best piece out of the three, but still a bit plain in taste.

(The actual candy is greener in real life.)

Rating: 4/5

Nutritional Facts:
Net Wt: 4.23oz (120g)
Serving Size: 15g
Servings: 8 (21 candies – 7 of each flavor)
Calories: 58
Total Fat: 0g
Sugars: 2g
Proteins: 0g

Overall:
The packaging is colorful, and “unique”, though the triangular packaging doesn’t really add any significance or convenience, rather, it makes opening it an inconvenience. The candies are okay, but for the extra that I paid for them, they are not good. The so-called ‘cider’ is really ラムネ flavored, which makes it a lie, and it’s pretty average for a ラムネ candy. The grapefruit is really good in terms of flavor, but it’s not that great as grapefruit isn’t one of my favored fruits. And melon is the best out of all three, but still not very good.

Overall Rating: B

Verdict:
I will eat my way through the rest of this bag, as a background candy, just to have something to munch at and not necessarily to actually enjoy the candy. I wouldn’t find myself buying this candy, ever again, I wouldn’t even consider it. I still recommend these to anyone who wants to give it a try, especially to ラムネ-grapefruit-and-melon lovers. Oh, not to mention those who like a fizz in their candy.

Rating Scale:
A+ = Perfect, or close to it.
(A = Great, but there’s the inconvenience of the triangular packaging.)
(B = Good.)
C = Average
D = Bad
F = Inedible

I can’t find another review, so you can only go on mine and your own judgement.

No Responses Yet to “Review #42: Happy Tanabata! 「七夕」”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

