Review #45: Strawberry Pocky-Family Pack 「苺ポッキーファミリパック」

16Jul10

It’s been half a year since this blog began! Wow. This is actually a big deal to me, because usually, I can’t keep up things (especially blogs and journals) for more than a month! I wish I could do a give away, but unfortunately that’s not possible. Maybe later on as this blog grows, but not now.

Finally, after 44 reviews, we get back-to-the-basics. And not even the most basic of basics, Strawberry Pocky(ポッキー). (And I say not the most basic of basics because I consider Chocolate ポッキー the most basic.) We’ve had a plethora of unique and uncommon, as well as some common and plain, snacks. In terms of ポッキー, I’ve reviewed four: Men’s Bitter Chocolate (Review #11), Gokuboso 「ごくぼそ」”Thin” (Review #13), Mix Berry (Review #24) and even a Dessert ポッキー, Chocolat Fromage (Review #35).

Here we have Strawberry ポッキー, family sized pack, meaning 9 packs of delicious ポッキー goodness. Now, some of you may wonder “What’s the point of this review, since you probably know the ratings without even touching the pack?” Well, okay, I already knew what I would rate it. But, there’s more to my reviews than just the ratings, and that’s the feedback. Yes, the words that you read.

Packaging:
The packaging for this is normal. Since it’s ポッキー, it’s not really the design that really draws me to the product anymore, but the name itself. Just call ポッキー and you’ve got me, unless it 1) Contains nuts, 2) Coconut-flavored or 3) Banana-flavored. The one thing that’s somewhat new (to me at least) is the inside packaging.

I love the striped silver, white and pink running down the package. And the logo ‘Stick to fun!’ is awesome as always? There’s 7 sticks to a pack and 9 packs within the whole bag. I got 5 packs and have eaten my way through 2 and the other 4 went to my sister. 

Rating: A+

Cost:
My mom bought this at an Asian market in a different city, close by, for $3.49, that’s approximately $0.39 per pack, for those of you who are wondering. Purchase one box for $.98 at Amazon.

Taste:
What really gets me is the smell. I love the smell of Strawberry ポッキー. It’s just incredible. I can’t really describe it. Well, I could, but not in a way that would make it sound as amazing as it is. It’s a sweet strawberry smell that tickles my nose. It just smells like strawberry and cream. (See! I told you I couldn’t do it.)

The taste is awesome. The biscuit is crunchy as always and the strawberry flavor is delicious. Though it’s not like it tastes like fresh strawberries, it doesn’t taste completely artificial….okay, maybe it does. It really is hard to do this post, because Strawberry ポッキー is just awesome. That’s it, period, end of statement. (For those who’ve never had it before, you won’t like this, but I think some people similar to me might understand.) 

Nutritional Facts:
Net Wt: 4.19oz (119g)
Serving Size: 13.3g
Servings: 9
Calories: 70
Total Fat: 3g
Saturated Fat: 1.5g
Sugars: 4g
Calcium: 4%

Rating: A+

Overall:
ポッキー is just perfect. And the simple one is the best. (Well, out of all the ポッキー I’ve had, which isn’t many.)

Overall Rating: A+

Verdict:
I will munch through these happily, as this snack is easy to obtain. I will definitely buy it again sometime in the future, I can just see it. And I definitely, absolutely recommend these(although you should already have tried them!)

Rating Scale:
(A+ = Perfect, or close to it.)
B = Good.
C = Average.
D = Bad.
F = Inedible.

Just trust me that Strawberry Pocky is the most amazing simple Japanese snack.

2 Responses to “Review #45: Strawberry Pocky-Family Pack 「苺ポッキーファミリパック」”

  1. 1 ilyana

    Congrats on your 6 month anniversary! I know what you mean lol, a year ago I wasn’t even blogging regularly…a new entry only got published once a month haha! Thankfully things have changed for the better except when school starts I might have to go back to posting once a month o_O; but at least I’ve got a valid excuse not to blog this time lol.

    Anywho I’ve tried the pocky family pack, it was on sale a couple of months back – tastes like regular pocky to me! ;D

    • Haha, thanks for much! LOL.
      Yeah, school’s a drag.
      LOL, well it IS regular -strawberry- pocky!


Leave a Reply

