Review #46: Hokkaido Cheese Chocolate 「北海道チーズチョコ」

22Jul10

I kept running into this sweet at my local market, but I never picked it up. I was, curious though. I mean, what’s a cheese chocolate supposed to be like? A piece of chocolate that tastes like cheese? Or a piece of cheese looking sweet that tastes like chocolate? Of course, I logged down the price and decided to search it up, but it was nowhere to be found on the internet(not really anyways). I was still hesitant to buy it, so I figured I would wait until I see if 日本町 sold it first. And of course, when I finally went to 日本町, they had a sale on this sweet at Ichiban’kan. (How lucky!) So, I quickly grabbed it up.

There’s also something about seeing the words ‘Hokkaido’ on the package, (and in this case name) that makes me feel the snack is just a little bit more Japanese. So far, the only 北海道 products I’ve encounter were the two caramels, Strawberry and Yubari Melon.

Packaging:
By this time, I’ve become a pro at opening Meiji boxes, and knowing how to close them and such. I feel as the box is a bit plain, but not too shabby. It certainly gives a warmly feeling, kind of. The blue blue sky and green green grass background is definitely nice, although bigger would’ve been better. The colors of the box represent cheese and chocolate, at least, I think so. I feel as the colors glow as well. But that might be because they actually do glow. Behind the dark brown letterings, is a faint yellow highlight so it really is “glowing”.

It’s hard to say whether it was the box (which is nice) or the name that intrigued me to want this sweet. If more than anything, I’ll be honest, that I think it had more so to do with the name than the box. Still, the box is indeed nice. One thing that I really loved about this box was that after it is opened up, an inside flap has words that match the ones torn away from the perforation. (I’m not sure that makes entirely any sense, so here’s a picture)

Rating: A

Cost:
This was on sale at Ichiban’kan for $1.99. I can’t find it anywhere online, so you’ll have to search for it yourself or go to 北海道.

Taste:
I think my main concern wasn’t really what “cheese chocolate” was, but how would cheese – something people normally perceive as salty – mix with chocolate -something that people perceive as sweet. Salty and sweet. It’s not that I haven’t seen the combo around before, but I’ve never experienced it in chocolate.

When I opened up the wrapper, I pulled out two small squares of chocolate connected to each other.  I don’t really see the point of having two small squares within one wrapper though. The pieces snapped pretty easily. I was expecting to see some kind of yellowy filling when I cut open the piece of chocolate, but to my dismay -or joy?- there was none. It looked like a regular tiny square of chocolate.

The taste is milk chocolate with strong hints of cheese flavor following behind. It’s not the cheese that you would think – or at least I would/did. It’s similar to the Dessert Fromage ポッキー taste but not quite. It’s got the milk taste that everybody should know. The cheese taste is probably something that you’d find in a cake or pastry…It really is hard to describe. It’s something you have to try to understand.

For me, it’s not a disgusting flavor. But I’ll have to say, one thing for sure, that it’s probably something that’s an acquired taste. You can’t just go out and try it, especially if your taste buds are not palatable to that taste. It’s an acquired taste, which I have somewhat of. I don’t have the right taste buds for this exactly, but I come close.

Nutritional Facts:
(From now on, if anything is “missing”, just know that it’s “0″ grams or whatever.)
Net Wt: 1.79oz (51g)
Serving Size: 1/2 package (25.5g)
Servings: 2
Calories: 160
Total Fat: 11g
Sat. Fat: 5g
Cholesterol: 5mg
Sugars: 11g
Protein: 2g
Vitamin A: 2%
Calcium: 8%
Iron: 4% 

Rating: B

Overall:
The packaging is pretty nice. It’s not flashy or anything, which is good a guess for a “calm 北海道 theme”, but it’s a little plain. The taste is not terrible, but it’s not entirely great either. It’s an acquired taste(I know I’ve said this three times, because I feel like emphasizing it).

Overall Rating: B+

Verdict:
I will happily eat the rest of these at normal pace. I probably wouldn’t buy these again, because it just wasn’t that good. I do recommend it to those who love French pastries, or whatever country uses cheese in their desserts.

Rating Scale:
A+ = Perfect, or close to it.
(A = Great.)
(B+ = Borderline between great and good.)
(B = Good.)
C = Average.
D = Bad.
F = Inedible.

Here’s a small review by Create Eat Happy :).

One Response to “Review #46: Hokkaido Cheese Chocolate 「北海道チーズチョコ」”

  1. I want to try this one!


Leave a Reply

