Review #47: Hot Cake Biscuit 「ホットケーキビスケット」

25Jul10

When I was walking in the aisles of Nijiya, I knew what I had a craving for, some kind of cookie. I found a Country Ma’am bag of chocolate chip cookies. And I jumped at it. Of course, you notice that this review isn’t Country Ma’am. I did want it, but it was a bit pricy. I held on to it while I continued down the aisle. But not too much further down, I spotted these two bags of Cisco biscuits: Hot Cake and Apple Pie. As these biscuits looked tempting as well, and their price cheaper, I picked this bag up instead.

Looking at the Cisco website, I can see that there is also a Strawberry Mille-feuille(いちごミルフィーユ). If you didn’t know, Mille-feuille, or Napoleon as it’s called in America, is a French pastry that consists of three layers with some kind of cream or jam in between. Mille-feuille literally translates into ‘a thousand leaves’.

Now if that flavor were available that day, I would’ve definitely snatched it up with no doubt. But it wasn’t. And I was a bit torn between Hot Cake and Apple Pie. But in the end, I chose Hot Cake(or Pancakes) over Apple Pie, seeing as I like the actual food over the other.

Packaging:
These not only fit in the category of what I was craving for that day, but also of what I look for in the packaging, something cute and delicious. It really looks tempting, the stack of pancakes on the bag. That’s all it really took to catch my attention and nothing else. Everything else is pretty much extras. The picture of the scattered biscuits helps show what the biscuit looks like and also shows what’s in the package for those who can’t read Japanese(although there’s some English on the bag). I’ve seen the old packaging and I feel as though the pancake stack was a bit exaggerated before. The stack right now is perfectly cute.

Only about 1/3 of the bag is air. I feel as though that’s a pretty good number. It’s not the best, but it’s pretty good, as with most packages, the air fills up 1/2 of the bag.

”ホットケーキがサクッとおいしい!!” 「’Hot Cake’ is crispy and delicious!!」

Rating: A+

Cost:
I bought these at Nijiya for $2.19. I can’t find it anywhere on the internet, so you’ll just have to search for it yourself.

Taste:
Opening the bag, the biscuit seems pretty fat and glazed over with sugar. The smell of this biscuit reminded me of this nasty coconut flavored biscuit I’ve had numerous times. That biscuit isn’t disgusting, but I just don’t really like the taste of coconut.  There is also a faint recollection of a “hot cake” smell.

The taste is also similar to the coconut biscuit. But not quite. This cookie is quite crispy in terms of texture.  The taste of these biscuits are kind of hard to describe. It’s not totally a “hot cake” flavor, but I can’t say I wouldn’t guess it if I were blindfolded. I can definitely taste the butter though. It’s pretty sweet, and buttery. It tastes yummy, but I’m not sure if the name “hot cake” fits entirely.

Note: After 4 days, they are still fresh and crispy.

Nutritional Facts:
Net Wt: 3.87oz (110g)
Serving Size: 30g
Servings: about 4
Calories: 142
Total Fat: 5g
Trans Fat: 0.1g
Sugars: 17g
Protein: 2g 

Rating: A

Overall:
The packaging is super cute and perfect. The taste is almost perfect, but not quite. It’s yummy and ‘hot cake’ like, but I guess it just didn’t match up to what my expectations were for a ‘hot cake’ biscuit. And it also reminds me too much of the coconut biscuit.

Overall Rating: A

Verdict:
I don’t like to “save” cookies, especially those not individually wrapped, as I’m afraid they’ll lose their freshness, but I would definitely savor these if I could. The truth, though, is that once I get started eating on these biscuits, I can’t stop, they’re too addicting. I would definitely buy these again(or perhaps another flavor). And I absolutely recommend these!

Rating Scale:
(A+ = Perfect, or close to it.)
(A = Great, but needs a little more.)
B = Good.
C = Average.
D = Bad.
F = Inedible.

Read Biscuit Van’s review on these Hot Cake Biscuits here.

2 Responses to “Review #47: Hot Cake Biscuit 「ホットケーキビスケット」”

  1. 1 ilyana

    *_* these look awesome!! Do they come in any other flavors?

    • Well, like I said, there was also an “apple pie” flavor on the shelf. And I’ve heard of a Strawberry Mille-feuille flavor, but I didn’t see that in shop.


Leave a Reply

