Review #49: Winter Fudge Pocky 「冬ポッキー」

31Jul10

I’ve seen this in my local market for quite some time. I was distressed, thinking that it would disappear soon, so “I should buy it already” but I wanted to compare prices because most of the time, the stuff at 日本町 is cheaper. I kept dragging it on and on. And every trip I made to my local market, I would leave going, “I’ll get it next time.” But I never did.

That is, until one fateful day, I was at the market with my dad, buying some groceries. And he asked if I wanted anything for myself, so I thought “Oh, to hell with it, if it’s costing more, it’s coming out of my dad’s wallet, so whatever.” (Hahaha, I’m a terrible child, I know.) So I ended up buying it at my local market(…or well, my dad did.) And it turns out, that 日本町 doesn’t even sell it (or at least not now…maybe during the winter time…)

Packaging:
The packaging is really what attracted me, for one thing you (should) know that I love dark chocolate/cocoa. So that fact alone is pretty awesome. Then we have the whole “winter” theme which is also cool, because cocoa+winter are like, one of the best combos ever. It just gives me that warm fuzzy feeling of Christmas. (Even though I didn’t buy or eat this during the winter time, I should’ve, but it wouldn’t have lasted!)

When I finally opened it, oh my gosh,  it was like heaven. There are 6 sticks to a pack and the bag was just so wonderfully white Christmas like. I know I don’t have too many words to describe the amazing-ness, but it really is, trust me.

Rating: A+

Cost:
So my dad bought it for me at the local market for $2.69. You can buy it at Asian Food Grocer for $2.98 or look for it yourself.


Taste:
The sticks aren’t as dark brownish red as on the cover of the box, but they’re pretty okay in the amount of dusting they have on. It’s similar to that of Meiji’s Meltyblend kind of powdering. The sticks are also thicker in size, than the normal pocky, but it’s still not as thick as the Dessert Pocky.

The taste is pretty good. It mainly justs tastes like milk chocolate Pocky, but there’s something that makes it a bit softer, a bit more wonderful. If you directly put the powdered chocolate part on your tongue, you’ll get a bit of the cocoa bitterness, but if you just take a big bite of the stick, it’ll be just milk chocolate tasting. It’s sweet, but not too much.

I wouldn’t say this pocky is the best I’ve ever had, because it certainly isn’t. But it’s still pretty good in itself, and just barely matches up to its expectations.

Nutritional Facts:
Net Wt: 3.45 oz (98g)
Serving Size: 24.5g
Servings: 4 (6 sticks each for a total of 24 sticks)
Calories: 126
Total Fat: 6g
Sat. Fat: 1.99g
Sodium: 46mg
Total Carbohydrates: 15.7g
Sugars: 7g
Protein: 2.2g

Rating: A

Overall:
The packaging of this Pocky is really good, and I really like it. It’s amazing, and it makes it look super yummy. The taste is okay, as well. It just barely matches the expectations, but doesn’t exceed it.

Overall Rating: A

Verdict:
I will finish the rest of these happily, but not really savoring it. I don’t think I will find myself buying these again, because the price is a bit steep and it’s not all that good. I do recommend it though, especially to Pocky lovers.

Rating Scale:
(A+ = Perfect, or close to it.)
(A = Pretty Great.)
B = Good.
C = Average.
D = Bad.
F = Inedible. 

Read Candy Addict or Pocky Watch’s review on this Winter Fudge Pocky.

One Response to “Review #49: Winter Fudge Pocky 「冬ポッキー」”

  1. 1 Hanie

    Yummilicious!


Leave a Reply

