Review #50: Puccho World 「ぷっちょワールド」

03Aug10

I can’t believe this is my 50th review! It seems like a small number, but also huge at the same time. I wish I could’ve aligned the 50th review and the 6 year anniversary together, but they just didn’t work. Oh, well. I can’t believe, in the course of half a year, I’ve tried 50 different Japanese snacks/sweets, and counting. It’s amazing. I began with Strawberry Milk Candy, and at that time, I never imagined something like this would turn out. And it’s all thanks to the new friends I’ve made through blogging and my readers (even the silent ones – I know who you are).

If the first thing that came to your mind when you saw that picture was, “Did she buy that candy just for the free thing/strap(in case you can’t read Japanese)?”, then please raise your hand and I’ll send you a cookie…..just kidding. But, do leave a comment, and I’ll give you a virtual pat on the back. Because, yes, you are right.

I was drawn to this ぷっちょ because of the freebie. I spotted it on the shelf in Nijiya, but was having second thoughts about it, since it was more expensive than the usual stick and also, I didn’t know what flavor it was. Still, on my second entrance into the shop,(I went into Daiso, Ichiban’kan and Nijiya twice on that day…I had to check out which is cheapest and what I wanted to get, as I had a limited budget), I picked it up, still not knowing what flavor
“ワールド” is.

So, yes. ぷっちょ is having a “CMキャラがストラップ”(CM character strap) freebie on their ワールドぷっちょ, so if you can, buy one today! All the available straps are shown on the website. Below is the picture of the strap I got, and honestly…I don’t like it very much. I mean, all of them are pretty weird, none of them is really “cute”, but I just had to get the one of the ぷっちょ with big busts? Well, I’ll probably give it to my cousin(from HK) when she comes here in like…December.

Packaging:
So yes, it was the freebie that tempted me, more so that the actual packaging. But it’s still pretty nice. It’s totally colorful, for one thing. And it’s got the cute
ぷっちょ characters(..or not…) around it. Though some are a bit weirder than others. I think if this had come alone, without the freebie, I’d still be drawn to it. But not as much. I would probably take a glance, seeing as it’s a flavor I haven’t seen before, but I probably wouldn’t pay that much attention to it.

I really don’t want to say that, but it’s the honest truth. I was attracted to the freebie. And there’s not much I can do about it.

Rating: B+

Cost:
I bought this at Nijiya for $2.99 (see! expensive!) I’m not sure I can find the right candy to buy online. They say this one is Yogurt flavored, but I’m not too sure, because the katakana says “Miracle” and I’ve had that flavor before, and it’s totally different. So, I guess you’ll just have to look on your own. You can see on UHA Mikakuto that there is a “World” flavor and it’s not that last link, because the “World” flavor is right next to that “Miracle” one.


Taste:
The one other thing I was wondering, besides which character I was going to get, was what flavor, exactly, is “World”. I did some research, and I think I came to the conclusion that it might be Yogurt flavored. Well, I looked at the picture on the side that said “ヨーグルトソフトキャンディ” (Yogurt Soft Candy). And I also think I searched online, just for confirmation. (And also included are the “いろんなぷちぷちグミ” [Many color gummies]).

And indeed, the ぷっちょ did taste like Yogurt. And not just like the Calpis flavor type of yogurt, it actually tasted like real yogurt. That’s some major points right there. I love the gummies, and the flavor is pretty awesome. The only thing that gets to me, is that I’m not really a huge fan of yogurt. That’s the only real problem I have with it, but otherwise it’s pretty darn amazing.


Nutritional Facts:
Net WT: 1.76oz(50g)
Serving Size: 50g
Servings: 1
Calories: 194
Total Fat: 3g
Sugars: 38g

Rating: A

Overall:
The packaging is colorful, but a little bit weird and creepy. The taste is spot on, but since I’m not that huge a fan of yogurt, it’s slightly downgraded, for that reason alone.

Overall Rating: A

Verdict:
I will definitely enjoy the rest of these. And if every sold (alone for cheaper), I would consider getting it again. And I definitely, absolutely, recommend it.

Rating Scale:
A+ = Perfect, or close to it.
(A = Pretty awesome.)
(B+ = Borderline between great and good.)
B = Good.
C = Average.
D = Bad.
F = Inedible.

No Responses Yet to “Review #50: Puccho World 「ぷっちょワールド」”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

