Review #51: Lemon Hi-Chew 「レモンハイチュウ」

06Aug10

So this begins my HK haul reviews. Well, I don’t know, I’ll probably throw in some of the other reviews, that aren’t HK, along for the ride. (I’m deciding from what looks not so tasty to the super awesome ones…unless they have a close expiration date).

Packaging:
It’s so weird, because this packaging is like a mix of アメリカン(American) and 日本(Japanese) ハイチュウ(Hi-Chew). On the front, or top view, it seems like it’s the アメリカン packaging, as it says ハイチュウ in English. But if you look on the sides, it’s in 日本語. (The words ハイチュウ and レモン). Then on the bottom is the nutritional information and ingredients, in English. And the only thing that’s not in either, is that on the side, it tells you there is “12 pieces”.

Not only is the outside a mix, but the inside is as well. The paper is tin foil, like 日本のハイチュウ. But the text on the paper is in English. I also believe that the paper is less “oily” on the inside, as the ハイチュウ kind of sticks to the paper, instead of “sliding” right off, like the usual ハイチュウ.

Rating: B

Cost:
HK Haul. Buy this candy on eBay for $1.99.


Taste:
This isn’t a really “unique” flavor of ハイチュウ, yet I’ve still never had it before. Surprise, surprise. I do like レモン flavored things, but not entirely. I mean, it’s a pretty okay flavor, but kind of ordinary.

The texture of this ハイチュウ is very…strange. It’s not as soft as the 日本のハイチュウ, yet it’s not as waxy as the アメリカ version. I’d say it’s a kind of in between mix of those two. The taste is indeed lemony. Just a regular (weird textured) ハイチュウ with lemon flavor, pretty ordinary.

Nutritional Facts:
Net Wt: 57g
Serving Size: 57g
Servings: 1
Calories: 237
Protein: 0.9g
Total Fat: 5.2g
Sat. Fat: 3g
Trans Fat: 0.2g
Total Carbs: 46.6g
Sugars: 33.9g

Rating: B-

Overall:
The packaging is something new to me, because it’s a mix. I wouldn’t say it’s good, but it’s not bad either. The texture of it is also a mix, but that one, I don’t like so much. The taste is nice and good, but ordinary, though that was probably expected…which is why it was chosen first.

Overall Rating: C+

Verdict:
*Kind of new format*
I’m glad I got only 6 of these ハイチュウs. I would not buy it again myself, nor ask my cousin to get it. I do recommend the flavor, but not particularly the manufacturer.

Rating Scale:
A+ = Perfect, or close to it.
(B = Good.)
(B- = Still good, but not that much so.)
(C+ = Good, but ordinary.)
C = Average.

D = Bad.
F = Inedible.

Read The Japanese Snack Review or Candy Addict’s thoughts on this ハイチュウ.

No Responses Yet to “Review #51: Lemon Hi-Chew 「レモンハイチュウ」”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

