Review #53: Hi-Chew Green Apple「グリーンアップル」

12Aug10

Packaging:
The packaging is the same mix of 日本(Japanese) and アメリカン(American) as the last Hi-Chew. I have seen, and tried this flavor of ハイチュウ before, in the regular アメリカン kind. The front packaging image seems the same, as far as I remember. There’s not much to say, as this is very similar to the last one, and will be similar to the other ones I have not yet opened.

Rating: B

Cost:
HK Haul. Buy it for $.98 at eFoodDepot (American kind) or buy it for $1.99 at Anime Castle (Japanese kind).


Taste:
The color kind of makes the ハイチュウ look like a mossy, puke green color. Not very tempting, obviously. The smell is distinctly of apple, but not as strong as the Lemon flavor was. The taste is pretty good, the same as the American flavor. The only problem I have with this, is the texture. It’s really hard and not as good as the waxy, rubbery American kind. I mean, I guess that’s a good thing, because you don’t want your candy to taste like rubber…but somehow I’ve gotten used to the American kind, though I still prefer the Japanese ones.


Actually, now that I’m nearly done with it, I think the flavor is a bit weird. Not as good as the American Green Apple, than I thought at first. It has a sort of weird aftertaste that I can’t exactly place. It’s something I’ve had before, but at the moment, I can’t name what it is per se.  I think I have to agree with my sister, that the Lemon Hi-Chew tastes better.

Nutritional Facts:
(Almost similar to the Lemon Hi-Chew)
Net WT: 57g
Serving Size: 57g
Servings: 1
Calories: 238
Protein: 0.9g
Total Fat: 5.4g
Sat. Fat: 3g
Trans Fat: 0.2g
Total Carbs: 46.4g
Sugars: 22.5g
Sodium: 3mg

Rating: C

Overall:
The packaging is the same as the last one. And the taste, is okay. It’s not as good as the American Green Apple, and the Lemon Hi-Chew is better as well.

Overall Rating: C-

Verdict:
I’m glad I only got 6 pieces of this. I would not buy this type again, but I might buy it if it were Japanese or American branded. Once again, I recommend the flavor, but not the brand.

Rating Scale:
A+ = Perfect, or close to it.
(B = Good.)
(C = Average.)
(C- = Not good compared to two things.)
D = Bad.
F = Inedible.

Read The Japanese Snack Food Review or Candy Blog’s review on this flavor.

No Responses Yet to “Review #53: Hi-Chew Green Apple「グリーンアップル」”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

