Review #56: Dars White Chocolate 「ダース白いチョコ」

21Aug10

Packaging:
Although it’s been a while, I’m sure my description would be the same as the previous one. I love the way the box opens, having it able to reseal and keep the package “fresh” as well as keep rodents and such away, for the most part, though it’s still not the absolute best protection. The tray is also very cool, as I can slide it in and out to grab a piece. And then, having the chocolate pieces already separated makes it convenient, as with other chocolates that are stuck together, making an uncoordinated person like myself, break it unevenly.

Rating: A+

Cost:
I bought this at a relatively cheap price, $1.39 at my local market. Buy it at Asian Food Grocer for $1.72 or $1.79 at eFoodDepot.


Taste:
Having already tried two boxes of Dars Bitter Chocolate before, and reading so much more wonderful reviews about it, I knew this Dars chocolate wouldn’t disappoint either. Truthfully, white and dark chocolate almost tie for first in my favorite type of chocolate, but I think dark chocolate just beats it by an inch. In this particular Dars chocolate at least.

It’s not as if I don’t like this Dars chocolate. It’s sweet, milky, vanilla-y and very wonderful. Super duper wonderful, and I really like it a lot. This is the type of creamy white chocolate I like. The kind that tastes like vanilla…pure vanilla or vanilla ice cream, I don’t really know. This is the best kind of white chocolate, because I know many others don’t taste as good as this. Still, in terms of which flavor I prefer for this brand, I’d have to go with dark chocolate. The reason being, this is the sweet white chocolate, making it impossible for me to feel like gobbling all 12 blocks down in one sitting. 

Nutritional Facts:
Net Wt: 1.58oz (45g)
Serving Size: 6 pieces (22g)
Servings: 2
Calories: 140
Total Fat: 8g
Sat. Fat: 5g
Cholest:  <5 mg
Sodium: 15mg
Total Carb: 13g
Sugars: 13g
Vitamin A: <2%
Calcium: 6%
Iron: <2%

Rating: A+

Overall:
I love the Dars brand in general, because it’s a chocolate I feel I can trust. As for the taste, it’s one of the best for white chocolate, but I still prefer Dark Chocolate as a favorite, though that doesn’t really affect the rating.

Overall Rating: A+

Verdict:
I have already finished more than half of the box(12 pieces in total) and I’ll be sad to finish it off. Personally, if I were to buy another Dars product, and it isn’t a new flavor, I would buy the dark chocolate over white. But, if I were in the mood for white chocolate, this would be on the top 2 brands I would choose to buy it from. I definitely absolutely recommend this flavor, and Dars in general.

Rating Scale:
(A+ = Perfect, or close to it.
)
B = Good.
C = Average.
D = Bad.
F = Inedible.

Read Tasty Japan’s review for this fantastic chocolate here. Make sure to drop by the Morinaga : Dars website.

No Responses Yet to “Review #56: Dars White Chocolate 「ダース白いチョコ」”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

