Review #57: Hi Chew Strawberry and Grape 「ハイチュウ ストロベリーとグレープ」

24Aug10

I’m going to (try) to give a short shout out. So I’ve never asked before, but I would appreciate some now. I wish people would comment on my reviews. I mean, I know that there are people who read these. I have stats that I check at least once a day, I know you’re out there! It would make me so happy to get comments and feedback on what I’m spending my free time doing. When I see the stats, and see people who really actually read my reviews, I get happy. But I would be even happier with comments. So, that’s basically it. I’m not going to say anything like, if I don’t get comments, I’ll stop posting. Anyways, thanks for reading, honestly.

Oh, one last thing, I’d like to give a BIG shout out to The Impulsive Buy. Thanks to you guys, I got over 100 views (each) in the course of two days. Thank you so very much! (Check out the post that mentioned this blog.)

I feel as though the “regular” Hi-Chews from the HK haul are getting somewhat mundane. At the very least, it’s getting that way for myself, therefore I decided to combine these two into one review, and all we have left is the one I saved, hoping it to be “the best for last”.

Packaging:
As I said, writing this is getting dull. I would say refer back to one of the other two posts, but that would waste my time as well as yours. (If you really want, you can check it out by clicking on that link) So, I’ll just quickly summarize. The packaging is a mix of the Japanese and American type, both inside and out (i.e: the wrapper and wording).

Rating: B

Cost:
HK Haul. Buy the American Strawberry ハイチュウ for $1.00 at Wizzy Wig Collectibles. For $1.25 at Mel&Rose, get the Japanese version or get a newer Japanese version (I think only the packaging is different, I haven’t yet tried a new version of any Japanese ハイチュウ) at Asian Food Grocer for $1.48. Buy the American Grape ハイチュウ for $.98 at eFoodDepot. Get an old Japanese version at Anime Castle for $1.99. Buy a newer version at Asian Food Grocer for $1.48 or a different new version (I don’t know which is newer) for $2.50 at eCrater.

Taste:
Strawberry 「ストロベリー」
I’d have to say that this strawberry ハイチュウ is my favorite…so far. It smells of a strong strawberry scent, fake that is. I know there are two types of people, those who like the fake strawberry scent and those who only like the scent of real strawberries. For me, I fit in neither category. Because there’s a third one. Those who like/don’t mind both. I like the scent of real strawberries, but I think the fake strawberry is okay as well. Probably, because I eat so much strawberry flavored candies, and they’re mostly fake, so I get used to it.

The taste, is of course fake strawberry. Actually, I think it kind of tastes like the coating on Strawberry Pocky, kind of. Again, it’s the fake taste that’s very sweet. Despite that, as I said, it’s my favorite so far. The only problem I have with it, is the texture. Firstly, it was sticky (or maybe it was the wrapper’s fault for not being waxy enough), so it stuck a bit to the wrapper when I tried to get it out. And secondly, I just don’t like the texture of the ハイチュウ manufactured by this company. It’s not waxy like the American kind, but it’s not really soft and chewy like the Japanese kind.

Nutritional Facts:
Net Wt: 57g
Serving Size: 57g
Servings: 1
Calories: 237kcal
Protein: 1g
Total Fat: 5.2g
Sat. Fat: 2.8g
Trans Fat: 0.3g
Total Carbs: 46.5g
Sugars: 34.2g
Sodium: 3mg
Cholest: 0mg

Rating: A

Grape「グレープ」
The grape smells of grape medicine, not the best flavor/scent in the world. For me, I’m not a big fan of grape flavored things. (i.e: juice, candies) My friend once told me, though, that Japanese grape flavored candies are actually okay. And I was proven that when she gave me a grape flavored  Calpis candy to try. It was, indeed, actually pretty okay. Still, I have to remember that this ハイチュウ was manufactured in Shanghai, not Japan.

The taste is what I expected, not good. It tastes mainly like a grape juice flavor, followed by some hints of grape medicine. Gross. Well, it’s more like…”It could be worse”, but at the same time it, “could get a whole lot better”. Uck, the taste is still in my mouth after some minutes. Ooh, this would be a great time for mints!

Nutritional Facts:
Net Wt:
57g
Serving Size: 57g
Servings: 1
Calories: 236kcal
Protein: 1g
Total Fat: 5.2g
Sat. Fat: 2.8g
Trans Fat: 0.3g
Total Carbs: 46.4g
Sugars: 33g
Sodium: 3mg
Cholest: 0mg

Rating: C-

Overall:
Strawberry 「ストロベリー」
The strawberry packaging is as usual. However, I do like the taste a lot. It’s my favorite so far (third time saying this). The only problem, of course, is the texture.

Overall Rating: A-

Grape「グレープ」
Noooo!!! Well, the packaging is as usual. I hate grape (flavor that is…the fruit is okay). And this candy reminds me why I hate it. It tastes like grape juice and grape medicine combined, disgusting.

Overall Rating: D

Despite how yummy looking the grapes are, the actual candy was disgusting.

Verdict:
I will (somewhat) sadly finish off the strawberry. And I would buy this flavor again, in the Japanese or American kind, but I wouldn’t ask my cousin to buy it again. I do recommend this flavor, but not the manufacturer.
I can’t stand the grape. I gave all the rest away to my sister. Therefore, I only had one, being the one I tasted. I will not buy this flavor again, in any kind. And I don’t recommend this flavor, unless you like grape…medicine. 

Rating Scale:
(A = Awesome.)
(A- = Awesome, but the texture is bad.)
(B = Good.)
C = Average.
(C- = Could be worse, but could be a whole lot better.)
(D = Bad.)
F = Inedible.

Read The Japanese Snack Food Review’s thoughts on the grape flavor here. Read Candy Blog’s post on both Strawberry and Grape (as well as some others), or read one of just Strawberry (Japanese version).

No Responses Yet to “Review #57: Hi Chew Strawberry and Grape 「ハイチュウ ストロベリーとグレープ」”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

