Review #59: Hey-Song Shaking Jelly Soda Drink Apple&Orange

30Aug10

(Don’t mean to be rude, but if you don’t want to see the whole video, skip to around 3:30, when he starts drinking it, I thought the whole video was kind of pretty interesting though.)

So, this soda drink is really…Chinese (I believe), not Japanese. But, it’s unique, and different, so I’m writing this review. To be honest, when I started out as just a reader of food blogs, I hated it when someone mixed in non-Japanese foods with Japanese food. But after half a year of blogging, I’ve gotten some habits. One of which, is to think and describe whatever I’m eating, and taking mental notes. After blogging this long, I realize it’s hard to not blog other types of food. I’ll still mainly stick to Japanese snacks, but I’ll occasionally throw in a snack of a different culture.

Packaging:
This was brought to my attention when they were serving free samples of this new drink at the market in the city next to mine. I was intrigued by this so-called “jelly drink”, or was it the free sample…? Well, whichever brought it to my attention, doesn’t matter.

The can is pretty cute, with the cat mascot that’s similar to the maneki neko (Welcoming Cat). And of course, with the split fruit. Still, if not for the free sample, I don’t believe this would be a product that I would be drawn to it.

Rating: B-

Cost:
This was “on sale” as it was a new product, 2/$1 making it $.50 each. I don’t know where you can find it online, but I think you can go to any Asian grocer and find it, assuming that you have one where you live.

Taste:
Apple
It’s really just an apple soda drink, like apple cider I guess, with (thick) jelly pieces in it. I thought it wasn’t that bad during the sample, but that was probably because most of the sample was the drink rather than jelly. After actually trying it, it’s not as good as it was. Because the jelly is really thick, leaving no real room for the soda to shine. Still, the soda (what’s left of it) is super fizzy and kind of explodes on my tongue. It’s a pretty cool drink, because it’s unique. But after that, there really isn’t much.

Nutritional Facts:
Net Wt: 310ml
Serving Size: 1 can (310ml)
Servings: 1
Calories: 148.8
Total Fat: 0g
Sodium: 28.8mg
Carbs: 37.2g
Sugars: 26g
Vitamin C: 5%

Rating: B+

Orange
It’s the same kind of “texture” with the thick jelly and barely any soda. Still the same fizzyness however. I like this flavor better than apple though. I think it’s because I’m a bigger fan of Fanta and Sunkist than apple cider. Hmm…I wonder if shaking it before opening would have made the jelly melt..or something.

Nutritional Facts:
Net Wt: 310ml
Serving Size: 1 can (310ml)
Servings: 1
Calories: 151.9
Sodium: 27.9mg
Carbs: 37.2g
Sugars: 37g
Vitamin C: 5%

Rating: A-

Overall:
The drinks were unique. And kind of good, the orange more so than the apple. But still, once the “cool-ness” wears off, you’re left with just chunky jelly and whatever soda can fit the rest of the can.

Overall Rating: (Apple) C

Overall Rating: (Orange) B+

Verdict:
I obviously already finished these off. Actually, I wouldn’t buy these again, because it’s just a waste of a drink.
I only recommend this if you want to try the experience. I don’t recommend drinking this if you’re trying to calm down your throat after a salty snack, because this will not do the trick.

Rating Scale:
A = Amazing.
(A- = I like the flavor, the “texture”, not so much.)
(B+ = Borderline between good and great.)
(B- = Good…ish.)
(C = Average.) 
D = Bad.
F = Undrinkable.

Click to read a small…blurb or something on this drink.

2 Responses to “Review #59: Hey-Song Shaking Jelly Soda Drink Apple&Orange”

  1. 1 christian

    where did you get it and where can you get it in ohio

    • I got it at this asian market called “99 Ranch Market”. I don’t live in or anywhere near Ohio, so I can’t really answer your question. All I can say is to check out any local asian markets if you can.


Leave a Reply

