Review #61: Takenoko no Sato Strawberry Tart 「たけのこの里いちごタルと」

05Sep10

Happy Birthday to one of my good friends, Cam! Love you! Hope you have a great birthday today! (Even though she won’t see this post)

Takenoko no Sato(たけのこの里) translates into “Bamboo Shoot Village”. I have seen these dozens of times, way before I even started this blog. Not only as this strawberry flavor, but as the original たけのこの里 and Kinoko no Yama [きのこの山], a brother product which translates into “Mountain of Mushrooms”.

Packaging:
I knew from reviews about this snack, that it wasn’t high on quantity. Knowing that fact was the main drive behind my avoiding this snack for so long. But as you see, I eventually caved. And for a good (ish) reason too, it was o sale at Ichiban’kan. That was the main reason, but another was the fact that it wasn’t just the plain たけのこの里 or きのこの山(Kinoko no Yama), it was a Strawberry Tart flavor. Now, despite many people saying how (and my agreeing) “strawberry is such a overdone flavor”, I still find myself drawn to strawberry flavored products. It may be the fact that strawberry is a “safe” flavor if you’re cautious. Anyhow, that’s a main reason I bought this.

Now, that is not to say that I haven’t found myself drawn to this particular flavor. The picture of the tart on the front of the box is enough to make me melt. I love desserts, especially ones that look delectable such as that piece. Absolutely deliciousness is screaming at my face. How could I resist? I’m a sucker for desserts like that.

Knowing that these snacks wouldn’t be much, I didn’t expect that much. However, when I opened the box, I was surprised to see an assortment of packages. I was expecting one giant packaging, like that of the Chocorooms. I thought, forgetting all about this snack’s rep, that there would actually be a lot. However, once I grabbed one, I realized…there was only one cookie per package. That was not only an utter disappointment, but a total waste of plastic (on the other hand, I like it somewhat for portion control). Then, I poured out the rest of the box, and counted. And finally, the “big” number you’re all waiting for…Seven. Yes, seven. It’s not even a double-digit! Words cannot describe how astounding disappointed I was.

Rating: A

Cost:
As I said, these were on sale, for $1.99 at Ichiban’kan. You can buy these at napaJapan for $3.69 (Though as of 9/4/2010, they are currently unavailable.) Or if you really want them now, you can purchase them for $7.99 on Amazon. (I think waiting would be better)


Taste:
Seeing as how quantity was not Meiji’s concern, I was hoping that quality would be. Opening the packet, I was hit with an intense strawberry cream smell. It reminds me of the many similar strawberry chocolate products Meiji has churned out. So, it wasn’t that surprising, but it still gets to me a little. Although, I have to say this particular strawberry chocolate smells more milky than the others.

The picture on the back of the box (see above)  puts the small snack into three parts – (カスタード…昧のチョコ) Custard Flavored Chocolate, (つぶつぶいちご入りチョコ) Grainy Strawberry Chocolate, and (サクサクとしたクッキー) Crispy and Flaky Cookie. Biting into the top cautiously, I was disappointed to find out that it was basically just chocolate coated cookie. I was hoping for a greater chocolate to cookie ratio.

The top (つぶつぶいちご入りチョコ) was definitely grainy and strawberry in taste. It was the usually grainy that I expected with chocolate, but it actually tasted like real strawberry seeds. That gave it a somewhat plus for realism, but I don’t generally like the seeds anyways. The bottom indeed tastes like custard (as it is most definitely not white chocolate), which is pretty okay. It’s much too light to really taste though. The cookie is pretty good in terms of texture. It’s crispy like the box said. The thing the box did not say, however, was the fact that the cookie part tastes like coconut cookie. And guess what, I don’t like coconuts.

Nutritional Facts:
Net Wt: 1.41oz (40g)
Serving Size: 1/2 package (20g)
Servings: 2Calories: 110
Total Fat: 6g
Sat. Fat: 4g
Cholest: 5mgSodium: 20mg
Total Carb: 12g
Fiber: 1g
Sugars: 11g
Protein: 1g
Vitamin A: <2%
Calcium: 6%
Iron: 4% 

Rating: B

Overall:
The box definitely set high expectations for this snack, though I knew about the low quantity. But I was shocked by the beyond low quantity. The snack itself was pretty good, but the only problem is the coconut cookie and the chocolate to cookie ratio. I thought it was pretty good, but not amazing. And especially at such a low quantity, I expected better quality. So that brought it down.

Overall Rating: B-

Verdict:
I will finish off the rest of these, none too happy nor quickly. I probably wouldn’t buy these again, unless they were superly on sale, because I would never pay about $3 for 7 tiny cookies that are only “okay”. I do recommend the cookies, but not the high price.

Rating Scale:
(A = Amazing.)
(B = Good.)
(B- = Okay, but could be better.)
C = Passing.
D = Bad.
F = Inedible. 

Read Japanese Snack Reviews or Snack Love’s reviews on this cookie. And check out Meiji’s website for this Takenoko/Kinoko series.

2 Responses to “Review #61: Takenoko no Sato Strawberry Tart 「たけのこの里いちごタルと」”

  1. 1 prettyprettyyumyum

    only 7 in the pack??? that is crazy!! thank goodness they were on sale! I too am drawn to strawberry flavours, i think coz they’re so pretty, the packaging draws me in…. :)

    • I know! I’ve heard of low quantity Takenoko before, but 7 really surprised me. Yeah, SO glad they were on sale :)
      Haha, me two! Even though a lot of people say its really plain and generic.


Leave a Reply

