Review #62: Momoyama Bean Cake 「桃山」

09Sep10

Here is yet another snack that was boughten in L.A.

Packaging:
This purchase was totally my mom’s call. Actually, she was looking for a chestnut cake. I think it was because A) my sister likes them and/or B) she liked the ones we got in Japan two summers ago.

I wouldn’t say this packaging is lame or ugly, but it certainly isn’t beautiful. It’s a bit plain. But it’s still got some pretty parts, like the light purple shade as well as the tiny flower. It’s most likely that this snack wasn’t directed at little kids, but adults. With it’s simplistic design, it’s main purpose was just to show the contents. Well it succeeded in its job there. But the one writing this blog isn’t my mother, it’s me. So I’ve got to consider that.

Rating: B

Cost:
Again, I didn’t pay much attention to the cost of this. I’m going to say it was around $3 though.

Taste:
The smell is very…sweet bean-paste like. I’m not sure any other way to describe it, but I’m sure those of you who’ve had a bean paste cake before know what I’m talking about. The smell is very sweet though, I’m not sure whether it’s more than usual or just the usual. Taking a bite, it’s kind of crumbly. The insides are like sand packed with sugar. I think it’s less of a pastry that has layers, and is just a snack with one layer made to look like more.

Having said that, the taste is still kind of good. It’s really sweet, and has a bit of peach taste along with some trails of bean. But mostly, I think it’s just sugar that I’m tasting. In fact, I can’t believe I’m saying this, it’s a little too sweet for my liking, and I love sweets. 

Nutritional Facts:
Net Wt: 5.8oz (165g)
Serving Size: 1.16oz (33g)
Servings: 5
Calories: 99
Total Fat: 0g
Cholest: 0mg
Sodium: 2.2mg
Total Carb: 24g
Sugars: 24g
Protein: 1.8g

Rating: B

Overall:
The packaging is kind of plain, but that’s okay I guess. The taste is good, but it’s a little too sweet for me to like it that much.

Overall Rating: B

Verdict:
These have been finished off by my family, who probably liked it I guess. I wouldn’t buy these again on my own free will, or ask my mother to buy them. I recommend these if you like Japanese traditional sweets (wagashi), but otherwise, maybe stay away.

Rating Scale:
A = Amazing.
(B = Good.)
C = Average.
D = Bad.
F = Inedible. 

No Responses Yet to “Review #62: Momoyama Bean Cake 「桃山」”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

