Review #63: Kotsubukko Rice Cracker 「こつぶっこ」

12Sep10

Packaging:
I was really attracted to this snack from it’s vibrant red color as well as the honey+apple combo. The little characters are very cute, but that wasn’t really what caught my eye in the store.

I love the image of the bee (cute!) dripping honey over the apple slices. It’s just so delicious and sweet looking. It makes me lick my lips in hunger to drizzle that honey down my throat. And then the font is really cute too(though it made it somewhat hard to read at first). The picture of the actual snack is good too, because you always like to know what you’re eating, especially if you can’t read the text(which I’m so glad I can)!

And finally we have the cute little girl and her animal friends. I think her juggling the pieces is super cute. And out of all of them, she’s my favorite. Though the animals were drawn with a cute style, I don’t really think they are overall that cute.

Oh wait, there’s something that’s awesome about the packaging I didn’t really know about. It’s…resealable! That makes it so awesome! Because then I don’t have to use a rubber band or clip and let air out anyways.

Rating: A+

Cost:
This cost $1.50 at Daiso. I saw it in both Daiso stores(日本町 and the one out of the city), but it took a while for me to buy it. Actually, I wanted to get it last time I went to Japantown, but I ran out of money that day. So my sister bought it for me(I paid her back). Here are some prices I found, but I’m not 100% sure that the product is the same. At Pacific Mercantile Company ($3.19) is a six-pack, though currently out of stock. Try your luck at eFoodDepot ($4.29) or a different product at eFoodDepot on sale for $2.76.

Taste:
With claims of having apple and honey in the mix, I thought this snack would be sweet, like caramel corn. But, oh boy, was I deceived. This rice cracker has minuscule to none-whatsoever taste of honey and apple. In fact, it isn’t really sweet at all! It’s salty!

Well, not to say it tastes bad. Because, actually, it does taste good and I like it quite a lot, it’s just the whole point of being deceived by the honey and apple claim. It smells of a soy sauce-like smell, though not as strong. The taste is somewhat minusculey like honey/apple if you place it directly on your tongue, or you really try to get at it. Otherwise, it just tastes like a salty sweetish cracker. It’s kind of like a sweet soy sauce, but more on the salty side.

Nutritional Facts:
Net Wt: 3.17oz (90g)
Serving Size: 1 bag (30g)
Servings: 3
Calories: 158 (473kcal)
Total Fat: 9g
Sat. Fat: 3g
Sodium: 235mg
Total Carb: 18g
Sugars: 2g
Protein: 1g
Calcium: 7%

Rating: A

Overall:
The packaging is pretty much awesome, perfect, so there’s no need to explain. The taste is really good as well, the only problem is the deceit of the so-called honey and apple mix. This is now my second favorite senbei.

Overall Rating: A+

Verdict:
I will unfortunately have to finish off the rest(but not too quickly as it’s resealable!). I would definitely buy this again. And I super duper recommend this.


Rating Scale:
(A+ = Perfect, or close to it.)
(A = Amazing.)
B = Good.
C = Average.
D = Bad.
F = Inedible.

Click here to read a review by strawberry basil.

This was made by Kameda Seika, the same company that churned out Happy Turn. Now I know this company is a salty product one(at least what I’ve had), but I also really like their products(again, what I’ve had). I’ve heard that other reviewers like this company, and I can sincerely say that I’m hopping on to the Kameda Seika bandwagon. (Check out the Kotsubukko page.)

No Responses Yet to “Review #63: Kotsubukko Rice Cracker 「こつぶっこ」”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

