Review #64: Puccho Blueberry and Grape 「ぷッちょ:ブルーベリーとグレープ」

19Sep10

I think a pet peeve that many food bloggers share is when there’s a sticker right on the packaging of a food/snack. It really gets to me because then, it ruins the photoshoot. Now, occasionally, I can peel the sticker off with ease. But other times (more rare than not), whilst peeling off the sticker, it either doesn’t come completely off, or leaves some sticky residue. Both, which ruin the picture session.

Packaging:
ブルーベリー (Blueberry)
That pet peeve, however, was more of a problem with the grape packaging than it was with this blueberry one.

I really love the mascot on the front of this one, a cute blueberry holding a magnifying glass up to his eye. Super adorable. Puccho characters are always super duper cute! And this one is no exception. It’s overall really exploding with the same kind of cuteness, so there’s really no need to drone on and on about these adorable bluebrries.

Rating: A+

グレープ (Grape)
The grape, as I said, had more of a problem with the pet peeve mentioned above. However, it did not arrive with a sticker on. It was delivered like that, already peeled, but not completely. The grape family is cute. Just as I said, all ぷっちょ characters are adorable. Personally, I find the blueberry cuter though, just saying.

Rating: A

Cost:
HK Haul. Buy the blueberry flavor at modes4u (out of stock?) or PlayAsia ($1.99). Or buy the grape flavored at Asian Food Grocer for $1.78.

Taste:
ブルーベリー (Blueberry)

The two were kind of similar in color, so it was a little itty bitty difficult to identify the two correctly. (In other words, I had no problem differentiating between the two, but apparently my sister did.

I was looking forward to ブルーベリー more than グレープ, as you know (or not), that I dislike grape flavors. This ぷッちょ didn’t really give off any kind of smell. The flavor is nice.

But the big problem I have, is with the texture. It’s really hard, and not chewy at all. Not like how real ぷっちょ is supposed to be. The coating is hard to chew and the gummys in the midst of it are also harder than normal. They’re more “candied” in the way that they would be if they were coated with sugar, but they aren’t entirely. The gummys are also less “bouncy”,  I guess.

Nutritional Facts:
Net Wt: 50g (10 pieces)
(Per 100g)
Calories/Energy: 420kcal
Protein: 3.8g
Total Fat: 7.6g
Sat. Fat: 6.9g
Carbohydrates: 83.8gSugars: 69.2g
Sodium: 28mg

Rating: B+

グレープ (Grape)
This one, unlike the blueberry, had somewhat of a smell. It was similar to that of the grape Hi-Chew. (*shudders*) Fortunately, it was better than the grape Hi-Chew. It wasn’t revolting puking.  It was actually okay, for a grape-flavored candy. It still tasted like grape medicine, and it’s still gross and I still don’t like it. But compared to the grape Hi-Chew, it’s much better.

Nutritional Facts:
Net Wt: 50g (10 pieces)
(Per 100g)
Calories/Energy: 404kcal
Protein: 3.2g
Total Fat: 6.3g
Sat. Fat: 5.7g
Carbohydrates: 82.6g
Sugars: 64g
Sodium: 9 mg 

Rating: B-

Overall:
ブルーベリー (Blueberry)
The packaging is pretty darn cute. The taste is pretty good too. The only problem I have is with the texture, but that’s not really ぷッちょ’s fault, it’s the HK manufacturers.

Overall Rating: A-

グレープ (Grape)
The packaging is pretty cute too, but not as much as the blueberry. The taste is bad, but not as bad as last time’s Hi-Chew. I still don’t like the texture of this.

Overall Rating: B

Verdict:
I’m glad I only got half of each(a little less might’ve been somewhat better). I wouldn’t ask my cousin to buy these flavors again, nor will I buy them myself. I somewhat recommend the blueberry flavor, but not the grape(unless you’re a fan of grape).

Rating Scale:
(A+ = Perfect, or close to it.)
(A = Awesome.)
(A- = Pretty good.)
(B+ = Borderline between good and great.)
(B = Good.)
(B- = Okay.)
C = Average.
D = Bad.
F = Inedible.

Can’t find another review on these flavors, so try it out yourself or trust me!

One Response to “Review #64: Puccho Blueberry and Grape 「ぷッちょ:ブルーベリーとグレープ」”

  1. 1 sara

    puccho ball blue soda is good you should try it sometime


Leave a Reply

