Review #65: Air In Choco 「エアインチョコ」: ふくふくたい ぷくぷくたい

22Sep10

Here is the very last snack that was bought in L.A. Fukufuku Tai(ふくふくたい) and PukuPuku Tai(ぷくぷく), I wasn’t sure whether there really was a difference between the two or not. I originally only got the ぷくぷく one, but my mom told me to get another one for my sister, so I chose the opposite, ふくふく.

Packaging:
「ふくふくたい」
This one is a red fortuitous one. To be honest, I forgot what the character said, so if anyone could translate, that would be great. Although it is a “lucky” fish, it doesn’t really do much in explaining what the content is. Which I believe is one of the most important aspects to a food packaging(besides attractiveness).

Rating: A+

「ぷくぷくたい」
I would really be torn between choosing between the two packagings. As the last one was a “lucky” one, but this is more cute and attractive. There’s the whole white waves and small little island/coral reefs. It really represents the ocean well, at least in a kindergarten’s way. Also, this one is slightly better as it shows the insides, which someone may not know if they don’t read Japanese. Well, actually, the whole thing is kind of hard to understand, kind of.

Rating: A+

Cost:
These were $.99 each, I believe they were on sale. You can get these at Tsunami.hk, they have the ぷくぷくたい as well as  flavors like Red Bean, Melon Cream and Strawberry (all $3.49).

Taste:
Not surprisingly, these both tasted the same. It wasn’t really a big disappointment, because I was kind of expecting it to be the same.
The first one I tried, though, was the ふくふく one. Not that it really matters. But right now, as I’m writing this review, I’m munching on the ぷくぷく one.

This snack was designed to resemble a Taiyaki. The smell, once opened, is that of regular wafer crackers…or cookies, whichever. With claims of being Crispy and Delicious (サクツとおいしい)  and Fluffy Chocolate(ふんわりチョコ), I was looking forward to this. Despite having the image, I was quite surprised at how the chocolate was laid out. It was really whipped looking, instead of the glob that’s usually on wafers.

The chocolate truly is fluffy. And the wafer…well, it was crispy. But after a couple days, sealed somewhat tight, it’s not crispy anymore. But it was! That’s what counts! The taste, to put it simply, is like an inverted Kit Kat. Because the chocolate is on the inside, rather than the outside like a normal Kit Kat.

Nutritional Facts:
Net Wt: 0.58oz (16.5g)
Serving Size: 0.57oz(16.5g)
Servings: 1
Calories: 88
Total Fat: 5g
Sodium: 24mg
Total Carb: 10g
Sugars: 6g
Protein: 1g
Calcium: 4%

Rating: A+

Overall:
Both packagings were really awesome, but if I really had to choose(which I kind of did), I would have chosen the more colorful, kiddy one. Because, heck, I’m still a kid! I’m a sucker for cute, colorful things. The taste was really good. Inverted Kit Kat! 

Overall Rating: A+

Verdict:
I have finished these off already. I “would” buy them again (but the truth is, they aren’t that good enough for me to request my parents/sister to go buy it for me). I super duper recommend these! (either one) They are fantabulous!

Rating Scale:
(A+ = Perfect, or close to it.)

A = Awesome.
B = Good.
C = Average.
D = Bad.
F = Inedible.

Read a review of ふくふくたい  from Kawaii Kakkoii Sugoi or ぷくぷくたい by the Anime Blog. And check out the Meito website.

One Response to “Review #65: Air In Choco 「エアインチョコ」: ふくふくたい ぷくぷくたい”

  1. 1 Rodzilla

    I’m definitely picking these up if I come across them.


Leave a Reply

