Review #66: Toppo Tiramisu 「トッポティラミス」

25Sep10

Toppo is basically an inverted Pocky, manufactured by Lotte. (How funny, it seems like Lotte is constantly copying Glico, see Pepero) So for this, instead of the chocolate being on the outside, coating the crunchy stick. It’s on the inside. I’ve heard debate about the whole Pocky v.s. Toppo deal, but let’s see here and now, which one is really “better”.

Packaging:
This snack has been very patient with me. I believe it’s been about 3 months since I bought…with the Shigekix that I reviewed much earlier(about 2 months ago…) Oh boy! I sure hope it’s not too mad at me. It should still be good though, as the expiration date is in November, two months from now.

Since it’s been a while, I don’t really remember that well. But I think that there were two  flavors of Toppo on the shelf at Nijiya. One was this, Tiramisu and the other was like…Camembert(on sale at napaJapan for $.99!) . The reason why I chose this over the Camembert(though tempting) was because A) I really really really love Tiramisu and B) It was the last box of Tiramisu. So there was no doubt, that I HAD to get this! It was fate.

Still, the packaging is pretty tempting in itself. With that chunk of deliciousness staring at me in the face. Oh, how I love Tiramisu! It’s just so……heavenly!~

(There’s about 7 sticks per pack, I forgot to count.)

Rating: A+

Cost:
I bought this at Nijiya for $3.59. Get Toppo (this flavor and/or the other 12) at napaJapan for $3.99 (but currently unavailable 9/23/2010).  Or buy it for $3.80 on eBay.

Taste:
Oh my god. The smell when I opened it was like walking into the kitchen of a pastry shop. It was so sweet, and divine. I could really, honestly, undoubtedly smell the Tiramisu.

Looking through the (not really) hole, there wasn’t much to see. I took a first bite and the taste was creamy along with the crunchiness of the Toppo(Yay! It doesn’t hate me!) It’ sweet and tasty, however it wasn’t that good.

Perhaps it’s because I had set the bar too high, but this set out to disappoint me. I think that’s a real problem with things like this – picking out desserts in the form of snacks, or with picking out a favorite something in general. The taste isn’t really much like Tiramisu at all. Aside from that, I don’t really like the pretzel to cream ratio, there’s far too much pretzel(which I’m not a big fan of), so it leaves more chewing work to be done. As well as leaving my mouth dry and begging for water. I can hardly eat two in a row without having to stop for a big gulp of (insert liquid here).

So the conclusion of my opinion?

I’m on the Pocky side.

Nutritional Facts:
Net Wt:  2.96oz (84g)
Serving Size: 1/2 packet (21g)
Servings: 4
Calories: 115 (232kcal)
Total Fat: 7g
Sat. Fat: 1.5g
Sodium: 80mg
Total Carbohydrates: 12g
Sugars: 5g
Protein: 1g

Rating: C

Overall:
The packaging is alluring as well as the fact that it’s Tiramisu. The taste, however, wasn’t all that grand. It was good, not that good I admit, and it definitely did not blow me away nor impress me. In this Pocky vs Toppo battle, I’m rooting for Pocky. I would definitely rather enjoy a Tiramisu Pocky(which I’m on the lookout for) over this, Tiramisu Toppo.

Overall Rating: B-

Verdict:
I just finished these off. I don’t believe I’ll find myself buying another “Toppo” product again, unless it’s a really really really really amazing flavor. I don’t really recommend these(especially not over Pocky), but I guess you should try it before you make up your mind.

Rating Scale:
(A+ = Perfect, or close to it.)
A = Amazing.
B = Good.
(B- = Okay.)
(C = Average.)
D = Bad.
F = Inedible.

Click to read a review by on the rocks.

No Responses Yet to “Review #66: Toppo Tiramisu 「トッポティラミス」”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

