Review #67: AnPanMan Chocolate Biscuit 「ビスケッチョ」

28Sep10

So I mentioned in the haul that there was a secret about this snack, as well as the Choco Ball. Well here it is for this snack. The reason why it was being sold so cheap and on sale at Ichiban’kan, well, it was expired. Not by much though! I swear! Just, oh about two months. Call me cheap, or whatever you want. But I couldn’t really help it all that much. I’m just a young girl with no job! How can I pass up a lovely(ish) offer like that?

Well, hopefully, it isn’t too bad. I don’t think it should be. It’s only two months. (And I ate it two days after I bought it) Besides, I logically argued to myself, that if it were really all that bad, Ichiban’kan wouldn’t still being selling it(and there was a whole bunch on the shelf too).

Packaging:
Obviously, I was paying attention more to the price tag than the actual packaging on deciding this. I’ve heard and seen Anpanman before, but I’ve never really known who he was/what his anime was about.

Still, I find the packaging somewhat cute. I mean, it’s kind of cute, in its own way. But at the same time it’s a little creepy. I think it’s the big nose and cheeks that really put me off. Obviously, these were intended for small children (who watch the show?). If that price tag wasn’t like that, I probably, most likely, wouldn’t have picked up this snack.

I really don’t actually understand the concept of biscuit vs cookie vs crackers sometimes. If I were to explain it, I’d say that a cookie is thicker and a cracker is thinner. But now, what about biscuit vs cracker? They’re both thin, I believe so.

Rating: B

Cost:
For the third time, it was $.50 at Ichiban’kan. I can’t find the exact product online, so look for it yourself. Sorry!

Taste:
I was very surprised when I opened this. By chocolate biscuit, I thought they meant the usual chocolate in between the wafer, or something like chocolate flavored biscuit. (Despite the picture on the cover…I really should pay more attention) What I did not expect was a piece of biscuit(or actually…it’s more like cookies to me) with two lumps of chocolate molded into characters on top. So, as far as artistic style goes, it’s not very. The originality though, I have to give it that. As well as how good the shapes were molded on to the figure. It was perfect, unlike some chocolate imprints that miss a little.

The smell is, of course, chocolate. And it smelt pretty okay, so I’m pretty sure I ‘m safe. The taste of the cookie was surprisingly good. It’s very sweet. And I can’t really describe it, but I feel like it’s a very sweet butter cookie. The chocolate adds to the flavor and texture, but it doesn’t really do much. I mean, both parts are good, on their own. But if it were up to me, I think this snack would be better off selling it separately. Just Anpanman shaped cookies and then Anpanman chocolate. This way is much better, I think. Besides, it would help themselves with profits as well!

(Despite the picture, there were actually four biscuits. I ate two and wrote part of this review, and then I waited to get my camera back for pictures. There was about a 3 or 4 day difference between these two dates, and for the most part, the “biscuit” remained “fresh”.)

Nutritional Facts:
Net Wt: 0.93oz (26.4g)

Serving Size: 0.93oz
Servings: 1
Calories: 140
Total Fat: 6g
Sat. Fat: 1g
Cholest: <5mg
Sodium: 55mg
Total Carbohydrates: 17g
Fiber: <1g
Sugars: 16g
Protein: 2g
Vitamin A: <2%
Calcium: 10%
Iron: <2% 

Rating: A-

Overall:
The packaging is pretty good. It’s not spectacular, but it’s not terrible either. It’s really not something I would pick out on my own though. The taste is great. I love the taste of the chocolate and the taste of the cookie…but together? It’s not bad together, it just doesn’t do much, so they would be better off separated.

Overall Rating: B+

Verdict:
I have already finished these off. I certainly wouldn’t buy these again, as I don’t feel as though they’re worth more than $.50. I do recommend giving these a try, but make sure you don’t get cheated!

Rating Scale:
A = Amazing.
(A- = Great.)
(B+ = Pretty good.)
( B = Good.)
C = Average.
D = Bad.
F = Inedible.

No Responses Yet to “Review #67: AnPanMan Chocolate Biscuit 「ビスケッチョ」”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

