Review #74: Sangaria Strawberry Soda

29Oct10

It’s one of my friend’s birthday today!!!
Happy freaking birthday MsMLe! – Love, DummiBear :)

This post, compared to the last one is the opposite, IMG UNHVY. LOL, I only have one picture…sorry!

Packaging:
Aii. I really have trouble writing sometimes, and other times, my mouth shoots off a mile a minute. Something I do in real life, is tell stories repeatedly to all my friends throughout the day. (LOL, and then I forget who I already told and who I didn’t) I saw this drink before, 2 years previous. My friend had it with her and I thought it looked super yum. I believe she let me try a sip, but it was so long ago, I could be wrong.

Anyways, I have seen this around a lot since then. But I’ve never really ventured out to try it. For one thing, I don’t really purchase much drinks when I go to Japantown. The reason being, I usually bring my own waterbottle or juice, so I have no need to do so. But once in a while, I do. And this time, I decided to get this.

It’s kind of attractive, I guess. Not really. Hah, the strawberries are so fake they make me want to curl up into a ball. Still, I love the drips of, what I presume is, the soda. It makes it slightly better. And the whole “getting cool” slogan is cool (no pun intended).

Rating: B+

Cost:
This cost me $1.44 at Ichiban’kan. Get it for $1.69 at Pacific Merchantile Company. Very Asia for $2.19 or $3.00 at Wizzywig Collectibles. Or get it for $1.80 at eFoodDepot.

Taste:
Mmm, since you know I finished this on the day of the haul, it’s hard for me to give a very accurate description of the taste. I remember it being delicious at first. It was cool and refreshing, and it was tangy. But I think after a while, the taste kind of got bland. I think it was mainly appealing at first because I was thirsty. But in the end, it was just really bland. Or…kind of. Not really bland, but just lacking in strawberry taste I guess.

It was really carbonated though, that’s one thing I’m sure of. Because EACH and EVERY time I opened the can, it would fizz.

So as you can tell, I didn’t really have time to take it home and pour it out and show you the contents. So sorry!

Nutritional Facts:
Net Wt:  16.2 fl. oz (480mL) 
Serving Size: 8 fl. oz (240mL)
Servings: about 2
Calories: 100
Total Fat: 0g
Sodium: 22mg
Total Carb: 26g
Sugars: 26g

Rating: B

Overall:
The packaging is okay, but the real reason I got was because it was cheap (compared to the rest) and I wanted to remember what it tasted like. But the taste wasn’t that great. It was, kind of, at first, but then it just died.

Overall Rating: B

Verdict:
This drink has been long finished, and I didn’t really savor it. I wouldn’t buy this again. I do recommend giving this a try, but with caution.

Rating Scale:
A = Awesome.
(B+ = Pretty Good.)
(B = Good.)
C = Average.
D = Bad.
F = Undrinkable.

Check out a yummy looking recipe using this soda! And check out the (USA) Sangaria page.

2 Responses to “Review #74: Sangaria Strawberry Soda”

  1. 1 Steve

    I just tried this strawberry soda and it tasted like strawberry powder drinks. It is not natural at all and it has HFCS as sweetener. Wonder why the color of the drink is in light orange as suppose to be pink ?

    • Yeah, I think that’s a better way to put it. Definitely, I didn’t like it very much either. It was just that, at the moment, I was pretty thirsty. Haha, really? I didn’t get to see what color it was.. xP


Leave a Reply

