Review #75: Assorted Deco 「デコアソート」

05Nov10

This is a day late, sorry. But I was so busy yesterday. I had to make 5 packs of Jello, because my club was selling it today, which ate up an hour of my time. And then my teacher assigned the hardest Geo homework in the history of the word, and I was so tired and I just wanted to go to sleep, so I did.

Packaging:
This was one of the things(besides the Hi-Chew) that I was looking forward to when I saw the HK haul. It’s very pretty and cute. I’ve never tried an assortment before, and now I can. I really love Deco stuff, it wasn’t until a while ago that I finally admitted it though. I used to squeal over cute things in silence, and dress in jeans and tees. Now, I actually love clothes shopping and choosing outfits. And I’m not afraid to squeal out loud. Well, maybe not squeal. But, you get the point right?

What I really want right now, is to a) get a Japanese cell phone. And b) cover it in Deco stuff. I’ve seen a lot of people (bloggers) doing this, deco-ing their phones, etc. I’ve been to Japantown and I’ve seen a couple of these Decos sold, but I haven’t purchased one yet, for several reasons. A) The small ones (cheaper) don’t come with glue. B) The big ones come with glue, but they’re expensive. C) The Decos aren’t that cute. 

Rating: A+

Cost:
HK Haul. Buy Apollo for $1.39 (eFoodDepot) or $2.00 (Wizzywig Collectibles). Buy Poifull for $2.00 at eCrater or $1.60 at Vikichan’s (scroll down to about the middle of the page…I’m not sure how payments are made though). I couldn’t find either of the tablets, so I guess it’s not really popular.

Taste:
レモンタブレット (Lemon Tablet)
The lemon tablet looks sour, but isn’t. On the box, it says “すっぱ~” (which means sour) and has a sour face emoticon next to it. In reality, the tablet is sweet. It has a little bit of lemon taste, but not too strong at first. It gets a little bit stronger as you break down the outer shell, but it’s still muted overall. The sourness is in the middle of the tablet (or at the end of the tasting), in the powdery part. It has a hint of sourness, but definitely not “puckering-sour”. It’s a relatively nice taste, but definitely not that sour. This would be good for people who can’t really handle sour, but as for me, I like a little bit of sour tartness, especially when things claim they are, like “Lemonheads” or “Super Lemon“(which I may buy and review eventually).

The box is cute, I love the way they made the “レモン” look “hand drawn” rather than computerized. It’s very cute. And the deco (#10) isn’t very cute. I mean, it is on the box, but there’s no way to make it look similar in real life…not really anyways. Here it is:

Rating: 4.5/5

アポロ (Apollo)
Oh, Apollo. A dear friend. This review will be short and simple, because I’ve already had Apollo, though I haven’t reviewed the original, I have reviewed the Vanilla  Pudding. All Apollo really is, is chocolate. A pink triangular top (strawberry-flavored) over a flat circular chocolate bottom. It’s definitely cute, but nothing new to me. The taste is mainly milk chocolate, with a slight hint of strawberry, though not too strong just like the lemon tablet. But every once in a while, the strawberry does shine. The thing is, these pieces are actually  (close to) normal sized, which isn’t big enough for me. I feel as though, it’s  only tasty if you pop a couple in at the same time.

The box, cute, pink, heart-felt. Very cute. The deco (#7) is cuter here, than the last one, but still not amazingly cute. It’s a bow, using the strawberry tablet and two Apollos. Cute…ish.

Rating: 4/5

ポイフル (Poifull)
Poifull sounds…well, like a mix being “poi” (derived from “koi” fish) and joyful. I actually don’t know the story behind its name, and I don’t know if there is one. There are four flavors, Grape, Muscat, Apple and Lemon. Grape first, it’s better than most grape candies, but still has the disgusting grape juice flavor that I don’t like, as in the juice juice not the real juice that comes from grapes. Next up is Muscat, which is basically a white grape I believe, much better. Lovely, indeed. It reminds me of the Kasugai Muscat Gummy I had, and loved. Next is Apple, definitely captured the apple taste. I would say…”Red Delicious”, maybe. Very sweet, and a little bit tart, but a whole lot of wonderful. Last, but not least of course, is Lemon. Wow, definitely sweet and tart. Much like the Lemon Tablet, but more vivid in strength. Definitely sweeter, but has a bit of a medicinal taste to it…or cough drops. The texture of these is a thin layer of candy coating and then a chewy center. It’s not a stick-to-your-teeth-chewy, which I love. I wouldn’t really compare these to jellybeans, at least not Jelly Bellys, because of the texture. It certainly looks like it though. My favorite has to be the Muscat one, and Apple coming in a close second.

The box is definitely cute, I love how they drew in the fruit. On the back, the deco (#3) is not really “pretty”. It’s kind of hard to figure out what it is unless you can read Japanese. I can only make out some, and it’s a “ポイフルをタイル” Poifull Tiles. It really isn’t that cute or pretty, or “decorish”. So far, I like the Apollo deco the best, and the Lemon tablet is in 2nd.

Rating: 4.5/5

カラフルミント (Colorful Mints)
It certainly is colorful, but the box’s cuteness isn’t much different from the others, so I’ll just move on to the taste. There are like 5 or 6 colors, but the beads are so tiny, you have to pop a whole bunch into your mouth at once. It’s sweet, a combination of so. I wouldn’t really say it had any distinct taste, it’s just basically sugar coated with food coloring. That’s what it tastes like to me at least. A more accurate description may be, konpeito, but smaller in size and less rough. Now these are one of those candies that I wonder, how can it be called a “mint”, it certainly doesn’t leave any refreshing breath behind, and it certainly doesn’t look like a mint. But whatever.

The deco (#6) isn’t very cute at all. It’s a lace…to me, it’s really kind of lame. Of course, I didn’t dare try this lame deco, since the pieces were so tiny. I did, however, take a picture of this:

Very colorful indeed.

Rating: 4/5

イチゴタブレット (Strawberry Tablet)
For some reason, when I first tried these, I thought it would be like a strawberry coating a chocolate…I’m not sure why. It probably has something to do with Apollo, or the millions of chocolate strawberry snacks I’ve had. This was, like the Lemon tablet, sweet. It was a good, strong strawberry taste however. For me, I think it tastes a little bit fresh, but I’m not too sure, because I like both, so I can’t really differentiate. In the middle, it’s a little bit tart. Actually, it’s probably more tart than the lemon. Very super yum. This is definitely my favorite out of the batch.

The deco (#1) is cute, but once again, it can’t really be made. Or at least…well, I’m sure it could, but I don’t have the tools to do so. If I have to say, this is my favorite in taste, but the Apollo deco is my favorite, for the decos.

Rating: 5/5

Nutritional Facts:
エネルギー (Energy/Calories): 240kcal
たんぱく質 (Protein): 1.2g
脂質 (Fats): 3.1g
炭水化物 (Carbohydrates): 51.7g
ナトリウム (Sodium): 6mg

Overall:
All five boxes were adorable, the whole thing was really. I thought all 5 boxes were pretty good, there weren’t any that were terribly grotesque. There’s always a good side and a bad side to these kinds of candies. A bad side, is that if there is a really good type, you only have so much. But it’s good, because it lets you try a variety of candies without having to waste money on a whole big jar if you don’t actually end up liking it. For this, there isn’t really any one box I would particularly buy again, except maybe the Strawberry Tablet.

Overall Rating: A

Verdict:
I will be finishing these off slowly and steadily. As I said, for this one, I would maybe, hypothetically, buy the Strawberry Tablet again. As for the whole thing, I don’t think I would, since it’s like that, I assume it’s more expensive, and I just…I don’t do anything more expensive than $4.

Rating Scale:
(A+ = Perfect, or close to it.)
(A = Amazing.)
B = Good.
C = Average.
D = Bad.
F = Inedible.

Check out the Chocolate Recipes on the website. Nobody really review Apollo (original) since it’s a “basic” candy from Japan, similar to how nobody really reviews original Pocky, here are some short customer reviews however. Read Candy Blog’s review of Poifull, hers’ had Pineapple instead of Lemon though.

No Responses Yet to “Review #75: Assorted Deco 「デコアソート」”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

