Review #78: Long Gum – Cola「ロング ガム コーラ昧」

17Nov10

Packaging:
The packaging is really cute. It’s colorful and it has a lot of cute faces on it, that tell you how “great” the gum is.  The main “pop out”, I guess, is the fact that the gum is long. That’s the selling point. The faces are pretty cute, but not a squealing “kawaii” kind.

I find that there’s not much to say about the packaging. Down the side it says “めっちゃめっちゃなが~いフーセンガムだよ!” which translates into “very very long bubble gum”. Hmm, for me it sounds kind of awkward, that sentence. I mean, the translation makes sense. But for me, it’s a little weird, because “フーセン” means balloon. So I would assume that they were talking about when you blow a bubble, rather than the term “bubble gum” itself. And to describe the bubble as “very very long” is strange. Because it should be “very very big” instead of “long”. Or maybe this whole paragraph is wrong, because I translated it incorrectly. Well, it says “bubble gum”…so maybe just the interpretation.

Rating: B

Cost:
This was a gift to my cousin (part of the goodie bag) from her friend’s birthday party. I have, however, seen this before at Daiso in Japantown. I never bought it though, because, well because it was so long. And there was no way I could finish it off by myself.

I can’t really find it online, but I’m sure they would have it at any/every Daiso (if it’s still in stock). So if you have one nearby, go check it out!

Taste:
I think this may be the first time I’ve had a “cola” flavored product reviewed by me. I’m not a big fan of coca cola, or of candies with the flavor.

When I opened this, I don’t think it had much of a smell. (I can’t remember 100%) I remember being slightly disappointed, because it wasn’t the brown “cola” color I thought it would be. Although now that I think about it, that would probably have been a little bit…”puking” to look at.

Sinking my teeth into it, I was overpowered by a strong cola taste. There was no doubt about it, it was definitely cola. At first, I found that it had a little bit of a weird taste to it. I couldn’t exactly put my finger on what it was though. But gradually, I got used to it.

The thing I was most happy about with this gum was the texture. Because a lot of gums that aren’t exactly “brand name” tend to be really hard. It’s hard and then it gets soft, but then quickly gets stale again. Those are the types of gum that are the hardest to blow a bubble with. But this wasn’t. Yes it was a little hard at first, like all gum, but it remained soft for a while. And it did blow quite big bubbles.

The only reason I spit out the gum early was because, my cheeks were getting sore from all the chewing. (The first chunk I ate was too big). And the only bad thing about this gum is its length, which is its selling point. This is definitely a gum that you need to share with somebody in order to finish it all. And I did have somebody to share it with, my cousin.

Nutritional Facts:
Net Wt: 1.7oz (50g)
Serving Size: 1 piece (50g/1oz)
Servings: 1
Calories: 163
Total Fat: 0g
Cholesterol: 0mg
Sodium: 0mg
Total Carbohydrate: 40g
Sugars: 10g

Rating: B+

Overall:
The packaging isn’t really anything, because the main attraction is the length. That being said, the length is the main problem I have with it. Still, the taste is good, and the texture exceeded my expectation, but does that add up? It’s stupid for the length to be like that (the main attraction and problem) so I can’t give it that A that it wants. Because it would probably be better if it were this flavor and texture, but smaller in size.

Overall Rating: B+

Verdict:
I’ve already finished this with my cousin. I wouldn’t hypothetically or “real-life”ly buy this again. I do recommend it, only if you have (a) friend(s) to share it with.

Rating Scale:
A = Amazing
(B+ = Pretty good.)
(B = Good.)
C = Average.
D = Bad.
F = Inedible.

No Responses Yet to “Review #78: Long Gum – Cola「ロング ガム コーラ昧」”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

