Review #79: Shrimp Sakura Senbei 「えびさくらせんべい」

20Nov10

Packaging:
This was the other flavor that was alongside the Mixed Senbei one. My mom got this for me (by request) when she, my sister and my dad went back to L.A. to help my sister move in. (I was stuck at home, because I had school…) The packaging is pretty much identical, so no need to repeat myself.

Rating: B-

Cost:
This was rather expensive, $6.99 I believe. It’s kind of a generic name, so I have a hard time finding a place to purchase it. But it’s also a generic taste, so I think any shrimp senbei would be approximately the same taste as this.

Taste:
When I requested this, I forgot that the word “えび” was in front of the “さくら”, so I thought it would just be さくら (cherry blossom) chips. And I thought, “WOW”! How interesting that would be! But, when I saw it, I was disappointed, mainly by my stupidity.

So I was really looking forward to seeing what a “sakura” chip would taste like, but I guess not. Because in this senbei, the shrimp, obviously, overpowered everything else. But looking at the ingredient list, I don’t even see anything that could be related to “sakura”. So how did it get its name? Probably just from the color. *Sigh*

These tasted good, I guess. I mean, they pretty much tasted like the Mixed Senbei. The only reason this isn’t “as good” is just because, you know, I didn’t get what I expected.

Nutritional Facts:
Net Wt: 5.2oz (150g)
Serving Size: 42 pieces (30g)
Servings: about 5
Calories: 158
Total Fat: 8g
Sat Fat: 0g
Trans Fat: 0g
Cholesterol: 0mg
Sodium: 201mg
Total Carb: 20g
Sugars: 20g

Rating: A-

Overall:
The packaging is same as before. The taste is the same too, but the only difference (in rating) is that I was disappointed by this.

Overall Rating: B

Verdict:
Finally, we’ve finished all of it. Honestly, I wouldn’t want this again. In fact, my sister asked if me if I wanted any, and she could buy it when she comes home, I said no. I do recommend giving this flavor of senbei a try, but don’t blow your cash on it, unless its a good brand.

Rating Scale:
A = Amazing.
(A- = Great.)
(B = Good.)
(B- = Okay.)
C = Average.
D = Bad.
F = Inedible.

No Responses Yet to “Review #79: Shrimp Sakura Senbei 「えびさくらせんべい」”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

