Review #82: Baby Star Snack Noodle – Chicken Flavor 「ベビースターラーメン」

01Dec10

It’s raining heavily, with thunder (and people have said there’s also hail). You know what that means? It means winter’s coming. I would be so much more excited about that if it actually snowed where I live. But it doesn’t. And I hate that. Ahh. The thunder is making me excited. LOL. I haven’t heard heavy rain/thunder in a while. The only thing I’m afraid for, is the power getting cut off. Because then I’d be very bored.

Okay, so that blurb had nothing to do with anything.

Packaging:
I’ve seen this Asian kid around before, “ベイちゃん”. He is the epitome of racism. I mean, seriously? Do I even have to say it. Whatever though, whatever, I don’t take too much offense. Like I said, I’ve seen this around before, and I always thought it was a “Chinese” snack, not Japanese. Indeed, the “sole agent” is in Hong Kong, but the “country of origin” is Japan.

The back is really entertaining.  So, “way to eat”; “can eat by hand”, “can eat from bag”, “suits the time when drink beer or tea”. Well, not a big influence in Engrish. But definitely amusing, to me at least. So the way I eat, is by hand. I wonder, does it really “suits” the time when “drink” beer or tea. Of course, I’m not allowed to drink beer, nor do I see myself every doing so in the future. And tea…well, no. I don’t drink tea at home. When I go out, yeah, but not at home.

Rating: B

Cost:
HK Haul (part 2). Purchase this at Koamart for $1.19 or $1.99 at VeryAsia.

Taste:
Since I’ve seen this snack before, it also means I’ve tried it before. Well, I don’t remember if I tried this exact flavor, but I definitely tried it. It was exactly the same way I thought it’d be. But of course, you don’t know what that way is.

If you’ve ever eaten ramen, “raw”, it will be easier to understand. So basically, it’s a long(depending on if it broke or not), crunchy, thin ramen I guess. Hopefully, you know what it looks like. It’s hard to get the taste by just one strand, so you pop a couple in your mouth at once. The taste is salty sweet, kind of like a sweet soy sauce. I wouldn’t really say that it tastes a whole lot like chicken, but it definitely has some chicken essence to it. So maybe not chicken chicken, but chicken broth.

For me, this is a good and yummy snack. For other people, I’m not sure though. I think this is one of those snacks that, you kind of have to have a certain palette to enjoy.

Nutritional Facts:
(The information is only left in Chinese, so I’m not sure about the accuracy) 
Net Wt: 50g
Serving Size: 50g
Servings: 1
Calories/Energy: 975kJ
Protein: 4.1g
Total Fat: 8.1g
Sat. Fat: 3.7g
Carbo: 36.1g
Sugars: 1.0g
Sodium: 498mg

Rating: A

Overall:
The packaging is okay, nothing too special, and certain people may take offense. The taste is good and yummy, I supposed more to certain taste buds though.

Overall Rating: B+

Verdict:
I’ve done with this. I would occasionally hypothetically buy it again. I do recommend giving it a try at the very least.

Rating Scale:
(A = Amazing.)
(B+ = Borderline between great and good.)
(B = Good.)
C = Average.
D = Bad.
F = Inedible.

Read a review by Snackerrific. Or visit the website in your spare time.

No Responses Yet to “Review #82: Baby Star Snack Noodle – Chicken Flavor 「ベビースターラーメン」”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

