Review #84: Hi Chew Jr. Canned Pineapple & Canned Peach 「ハイチュウジュニアー:パインの缶詰 と ももの缶詰」

20Dec10

Packaging:
I was super excited when I saw these! When my cousin sent me the picture, I was like “OMG! Eat whichever but DO NOT lay a finger on these Juniors! (Because I knew she would)

They are just SO cute. I have a thing for small scale figurines, and such. If that makes sense. Basically I like mini versions of real objects (take my erasers for instance).

They are both so colorful, cute and tasty looking! I remember seeing these and knowing that I wanted to try them, but I never saw them at Japantown. But now, I possess them! And I can’t be any happier!!! Actually…from the picture she sent me, there was supposed to be another one…a White Soda (aka Ramune) flavored one. (Well it wasn’t a junior, it was smaller than usual though)

Rating: A+

Cost:
HK Haul. You can get them both from Tsunami.hk, Canned Pineapple and Canned Peach for $3.79 each. Or at napaJapan(however they are limited 1 left for Pineapple and 2 for Peach, they may restock soon though!) for $1.99 each. Or get the Pineapple one for $2.20 on eBay.

Taste:


パインの缶詰 「Canned Pineapple」
Pineapples are one of my favorite fruits next to peaches and mangoes. Mangoes being top, and peaches and pineapples tying for second. The thing is, I do like canned pineapples, because they don’t have the salty taste that real pineapples have, and they are always sweet. But real pineapples are good to, I just hate that sometimes they might not be sweet, and the ones my mom buys, she soaks in salt water, so it always leaves a bad taste.

It smelled strongly of some kind of sweet acidic smell I guess. I don’t really know how to describe it, it’s not like a pineapple smell, but it’s definitely something. Maybe a yogurty smell.

The taste is definitely pineapple. It has a yummy tartness from time to time, that adds to the pineapple effect. It’s a little bit less pineapple though, because there is a strong yogurt flavor that almost conquers the taste of pineapple. I guess I would say it kind of tastes like a combination of yogurt and tart pineapple juice. It tastes good, but I think it would taste better if the pineapple were more prominent.

Rating: 4/5

ももの缶詰 「Canned Peach」
This one doesn’t smell of anything with the wrapper on. With the wrapper off, however, it smells more like peach.

Mmm, the taste is strongly of peach. But not the fresh kind, definitely not. It really is the “canned peach” taste. Which is okay I guess, I mean it makes sense, personally I like the taste of fresh peach, but hey, it is what it is and that’s supposed to be a good thing. It’s just the whole “not fresh, but canned” controversy backwards.

This one has less of a yogurt taste, and more peach. But I think, compared to the pineapple, I’d prefer it if the pineapple had less yogurt, than if this does.

Rating: 4/5

Nutritional Facts:
Ack Stupid sticker RIGHT over the nutritional facts! From what I can tell though (I only tried to peel back the pineapple, but I’m assuming its the same facts for both:
Net Wt: 33g
Calories: 135kcal
Protein: 0.5g
Fat: 2.5g
Carbohydrates: 27.3g
Sodium: 0mg

Overall:
They are super cute! And they taste pretty good, not amazing or to die for though, because there are things I would change if I could.

Overall Rating: A-

Verdict:
Only a couple more, since it’s a junior. I would hypothetically buy these again. I definitely recommend giving these a try.

Rating Scale:
(A+ = Perfect, or close to it.)
A = Amazing.
(A- = Great.)
B = Good.
C = Average.
D = Bad.
F = Inedible.

Read a review from Snack Love on the Canned Pineapple Hi-Chew.

I can’t wait until I get a new review system. I was working on something beforehand, but I’ve been busy. I have a little something, but it doesn’t feel “perfect” yet. I’ll see if I can make some tweaks, and if not, then look forward to seeing it…on New Years I think. Or this blog’s anniversary.

2 Responses to “Review #84: Hi Chew Jr. Canned Pineapple & Canned Peach 「ハイチュウジュニアー:パインの缶詰 と ももの缶詰」”

  1. 1 Jess

    I run a review blog and would love to do a snack trade with you…pretty please? :)

    • Sorry! I have to turn down your pretty please. As much as I would like to do a snack trade with you, I’m currently not in a position where I’m able to do that. Maybe, one day in the future when I’m able to do snack trades, I’ll come find you (or vice versa). Thanks for the offer though!


Leave a Reply

