Review #85: Jagabee Potato Chips 「ジャガビー」

23Dec10

Packaging:
This is really super cute, I love the way it comes in a little cup. Just like you would get real fries (to go). Well, not exactly the same, but it’s a long the same line. The little characters are so cute, I assume they are potatoes, but who knows. The one at top is the cutest, with the crown of flowers. I remember back when I was younger, when I went to parks, instead of playing on the swings, I would sit in a patch of grass, pull out daisies and make daisy necklaces and bracelets. Now that I think about it, I was killing them. Sorry!

I love how they show the picture of the actual snack, it helps make things so much easier. Not that I couldn’t read it/figure it out. Something also really cute it just the name. Jagabee. It’s so cute. It just…I don’t know, it just reminds me of something cute.

Rating: A

Cost:
HK Haul(part 2). Get it for $3.25 at jBox (so expensive!) or $6.99 at eCrater, but this is 18gX5 packets.

Taste:
So, I tasted this, took pictures and then kind of left it alone. Because I was studying for finals I didn’t really have time to write out the review. So now it’s…”soggy”. Or what’s that word… Anyways, it’s okay, because I still remember how it tastes, originally.

The thing is, it tastes and looks exactly like a French fry. I’m not even kidding, I wanted to buy some fries just so I could take a picture of the two together and show you the resembelance (or put them in the carton), but I hate Mc Donalds, and that’s the only place near my house. (and I just realized now that I had fries twice this week…at other places, FML, I should’ve brought this!)

There’s not much to say except it really tastes like an actual french fry. The potato taste, the saltiness, though not as much I think. The only thing that really weirded me out at first was the texture. Because it looked and tasted exactly like a french fry, I thought it should also taste like a french fry in terms of texture, but it wasn’t. It wasn’t soft, or slightly crispy. It was actually pretty crispy (at least from what I recall). It was like biting into a potato chip that had more substance, so it was weird. Only because I expected it to have the similar texture of a fry.

Nutritional Facts:
(I’m not sure of these facts because it’s kind of in chinese, which I can speak [not that well though] but not read) 
Serving Size: 40g
Servings: 1
Energy: 226 kcal(per serving)
Protein: 1.5g
Total Fat: 16g
Sat Fat: 7.8g
Total Carbs: 20.5g
Sugars: .3g
Sodium: 141 mg

Rating: A+

Overall:
The packaging is cute, and the taste is unique and delicious. It would be like French fries, with less oil, I think. I don’t know how else to put it.

Overall Rating: A

Verdict:
Sadly, it’s all gone. I want more!!! I think that if I could find this where I live, I would actually maybe consider buying it. Definitely try it if you can!

Rating Scale:
(A+ = Perfect, or close to it.)
(A = Amazing.)
B = Good.
C = Average.
D = Bad
F = Inedible

Read reviews by Dee Kay Dot As Gee and Julie the Biscuit. Visit the (cute!) Calbee website.

No Responses Yet to “Review #85: Jagabee Potato Chips 「ジャガビー」”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

