Review #86: Chocolate Covered Pretzels 「ガチゴリ」

25Dec10

Okay, so I couldn’t really buy anything for a Holiday Special. Because, well, nothing really appealed to me and stuff. I don’t know. But here’s a second best. (Although I accidentally published this, I hope you guys haven’t read it yet!)

Packaging:
The main reason why I bought this was because it was on sale at Ichiban’kan. I’ve seen it a couple of times before, and considered buying it, but I’ve always passed over it for more…vibrantly decorated snacks. Really, isn’t the point of the packaging to attract the customers, so if you don’t, then, well, you don’t have any customers. Of course there is the whole thing about which demographic they are targeting at.

I, however, do love the way the name is written. I had difficulty reading it at first, but now that I know what it says, it looks really cool. It says “Gachigori”, I think the name might be a pun on Japanese onomatopoeias, but I’m not educated in them (I only know of ふわふわ “fluffy” and かりかり “crispy). I find caligraphy…okay, I’d be lying if I said it was beautiful to me. I mean, I think it is pretty cool, but I’m one of those people who really understand why someone would put a picture of a character on their wall. I only would understand it if the word had a meaning, like “dream” or “love” or something, otherwise, I don’t know. Well, they usually have a meaning anyways.

Rating: A-

Cost:
I bought it for $1.00 at Ichiban’kan. I can’t find it online, except for this one site, but I think it’s for Japanese residents only, considering the payment is in yen.

Taste:
First things first, the way it looks. NOT attractive. Let’s just say…it looks like something that would come out of a dog. From the rear… Yeah, that’s SO appetizing….

I love the chocolate, hate the pretzel. I really have to stop this, if I know I hate pretzels+chocolate, why do I continue to buy products (because it was on sale). The thing is, if they were separate, it’d be okay. But I really can’t stand the way the pretzel is salty, and then the chocolate is sweet. The balance of salty and sweet does not taste good in my book. I know that other people find it okay, but I just don’t. So don’t hate, this is just my opinion.

I don’t really like the texture that much either, it’s a really hard pretzel, kind of rough edges too. There feels like a lot of different parts and layers to it, kind of like a rock, but an edible one.

I mean, I’m sure this is good for some people, just not me. Oh, and it contains nuts, just in case you’re allergic (I don’t like nuts very much)

Nutritional Facts:
Net Wt: 1.05oz (30g)
Serving Size: 1 pkg (30g)
Servings: 1
Calories: 140
Total Fat: 6g
Sat Fat: 3.5g
Cholest: <5mg
Sodium: 230mg
Total Carb: 20g
Fiber: <1g
Sugars: 8g
Protein: 3g
Calcium: 3%
Iron: 1%

Rating: C-

Overall:
The packaging is okay, the taste is pretty. But I was pretty generous with the ratings. I’m sure this snack is meant for some people, but it’s just not me. And it’s kind of high in calories in terms of how much there actually is (I think there was only about 15 pieces).

Overall Rating: C+

Verdict:
Yeah… I wouldn’t buy this again, or any pretzel chocolate combos in the future, really, that would be the smart decision. If you like pretzel+chocolate, then by all means, try this snack.

Rating Scale:
A = Amazing.
(A- = Great.)
B = Good.
(C+ = Above Average.)
C = Average.
(C- = Below Average.)
D = Bad.
F = Inedible.

Check out the Glico website.

Okay, I really want to use the new system…but I’m still working out the kinks. Grr!!! Only one more week!!!

No Responses Yet to “Review #86: Chocolate Covered Pretzels 「ガチゴリ」”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

