Review #89: Baby Star – Yakisoba 「ベビースターラーメン:焼そば昧」

10Jan11

Packaging:
This is one of the three Baby Star Ramen packages my cousin brought, and also the last thing from the HK haul to review. This one is different from the rest because it was the only Yakisoba flavored one while the other two were chicken. Again, same character. The packaging is pretty much the same, so if you want to know, just read the last post.

Rating: B

Cost:
HK haul (part 2). Unfortunately, I can’t find it anywhere online, so you’ll just have to check your own place.

Taste:
I’m really glad that I saved this for last, because…well, because it’s the best. Absolutely. I mean, the packaging and stuff is the same. But the taste, oh wow.

Just from looking at it, you can tell it’s different. There are little brown and black specks dotting the noodle piece. The taste is a little bit sour, but not in the same way sour candy is sour. Kind of like…if you cook a dish and add a little bit of lemon juice. Where it’s not purposely sour, but sourness is added for flavoring. (The third listed ingredient is Tomato Sauce and there’s also Vinegar Powder listed further down the list) It’s also a bit sweet, like adding sugar. Anyways, I haven’t had Yakisoba in a while, so I can’t say if the flavoring tastes the same, but I think it’s close since they use Worcestershire sauce.

Just like the the last one, I think this flavor takes a certain pallet to enjoy, but I’m not sure. All I know is that it’s good and I like it quite a lot.

Nutritional Facts:
(Facts are in Chinese, so don’t count on accuracy)
Net Wt: 45g
Serving Size: 45g
Servings: 1
Calorie/Energy: 918 kJ
Protein: 4.1g
Total Fat: 10.2g
Sat Fat: 4.4g
Trans Fat: 0.1g
Carbo: 27.5g
Sugar: 1.5g
Sodium: 434mg

Rating: A

Overall:
The packaging is a little bit dull, but the taste is really good. Whether or not it requires an acquired taste, I’m not sure. But it wouldn’t hurt to try I guess.

Overall Rating: A-

Verdict:
I would hypothetically buy this again (if I could) and I absolutely recommend giving it a try.

Rating Scale:
(A = Amazing.)
(A- = Great.)
(B = Good.)
C = Average.
D = Bad.
F = Inedible.

Check out the cute website.


No Responses Yet to “Review #89: Baby Star – Yakisoba 「ベビースターラーメン:焼そば昧」”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

