Review #90: Jyanjyaka Soda Candy 「じゃんじゃかソーダキャンディ」

13Jan11

Packaging:
There are, to me, good and bad sides to samples. The good side is that you can try a little of the product, and if it’s bad, you haven’t wasted your money buying the whole thing (like the Sunflower candy). And I suppose it’s also good because if you like the product, then you know can buy some more. For me, however, it’s bad because most of the time, I wouldn’t buy the product again anyways seeing as I’ve already tried it. This leaves me little room to do accurate reviews (in terms of picture and information).

This candy was bought by my sister, and she gave me a couple. I, personally, don’t have much of a thing for soda candies anymore. To me, they’re all pretty much the same.

If I were given a row of soda candies to choose from, honestly, this wouldn’t be at the top pick.It’s just that, I’ve seen cuter packagings for soda candies, that have the same basic flavors, like this one.

Rating: C

Cost:
Samples. There’s only one place I found online, but it’s currently out of stock.

Taste:
To be honest, I didn’t notice the brand until just now when I was taking pictures. The brand is Lion, the same company that made the candy that looked like soap. So now I’m a bit wary. I mean, it wasn’t that bad, but it wasn’t all that great.

Strawberry「いちご」
It smells pretty good. It kind of reminds me of those strawberry gummy fruit snacks (which I love!). The taste is not bad. There’s a bit of a fizz (soda part) and it’s a little bit tangy, but still sweet. It definitely tastes like the strawberry gummys, which means not exactly fresh strawberries, but not exactly fake ones either. I like it a lot. With the fizz and tang, it really makes it taste like strawberry soda, which is obviously the point. I like this. (5/5)

Orange 「オレンジー」It does smell like orange, or at the very least, some kind of citrus. It reminds me of something, but I can’t quite remember what at the moment. It has the same fizz as the previous piece. The taste is definitely orange, but to me, it’s not a good type of orangey taste. It’s the “something” that I dislike, but can’t quite put my fingers on it. It tastes a little bit like tamarind maybe (because I know I dislike that). I guess the thing is that it tastes like a real orange (or tamarind), when I feel like it should taste like Fanta or Sunkist, seeing it is “Orange Soda”. (3/5)

Melon「メロン」
I think there has been more melon candies that I’ve disliked than I’ve liked. There’s only one melon candy that I know I love and I believe it’s made by Kasugai. It doesn’t really smell like melon, or anything in general. The taste, again has the fizz, is a little bit on the sour side. It doesn’t really taste like melon. It doesn’t taste like anything I can really put my finger on. The only thing I know for sure is that it’s pretty sour (it made me sweat a little). If you gave me this candy without the packaging or anything, I would easily assume it’s “lime” from the sour taste and then give up trying to detect the flavor. I mean, the taste isn’t bad or anything, it just doesn’t taste much like it’s supposed to. (3.5/5)

Ramune 「ラムネ」
I wasn’t really expecting much since I’ve had a ramune candy by Lion before, along with a lot of other ramune candies. The taste is…normal. Tastes like any other ramune candy. For those who don’t know, it’s kind of sour/tangy and then it gets sweet. (Ramune is basically Japanese lemonade…in terms of taste. But it’s the bottle that makes it unique. It’s a Codd-neck shaped bottle with a marble in it, that you can’t get out unless you smash the bottle) Before, I used to adore ramune candies. But there gets to be a point where enough is enough. Things aren’t going to change, and it’s all going to taste the same. I mean, there’s nothing wrong with the taste, it’s just a little…too mundane I guess. (3/5)

Nutritional Facts:
N/A

Overall:
For me, my favorite is the strawberry one (well, there were more flavors in the whole bag, but these are the four I got). The orange is okay, but doesn’t really taste like “Orange Soda”. The melon doesn’t really taste like melon that much. And the ramune is just…too ordinary (and overused).

Overall Rating: C (this isn’t entirely accurate as I’m missing some flavors)

Verdict:
I wouldn’t buy this (again) on my own. If you like soda candies, sure, go ahead and try it, otherwise, I’d advise you to spend your money on some other kind of Japanese snack.

Rating Scale:
A = Amazing.
B = Good.
(C = Average.)
D = Bad.
F = Inedible.

No Responses Yet to “Review #90: Jyanjyaka Soda Candy 「じゃんじゃかソーダキャンディ」”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

