Review #91: Fujiya Milky 「ミルキー」

17Jan11

This candy has interested me for quite a while. Because it’s kind of “famous” I guess, or at least Peko-chan is. I think the first time I heard of Peko-chan was in this manga I was reading. I’ve been tempted to buy this several times, but I wasn’t sure.

I finally gave in one day when I was done with my two hardest finals (One that I passed and the other I miserably failed…I don’t want to talk about it anymore)

I don’t know why, but I thought this candy would be fruity (probably because there is one that is fruit candy and also because of the different colored wrapping). But, it’s not. This one is the milk candy one, which isn’t bad of course, just…not what I thought (though I wasn’t disappointed).

I like how it says “ミルキーは ママの昧”, Milky is Mama’s flavor. Like those commercials that advertise, “this is the snack parents and kids love”.

Taste:
The candy was harder than I expected when I first popped it into my mouth. I thought it would be like the White Rabbit Candy, but I guess not. I mean, they’re similar, but also different. This takes a few seconds or so for it to soften enough that it’s chewable. It’s definitely a milk candy. It’s sweet, but not overly so in the way many other candies are. Although, it definitely does not taste like just regular milk (or at least the kind I drink). It’s kind of like…well, you know how if you eat a sugary cereal and then you drink the milk at the end. It’s kind of like that, but not as sweet (well, I guess it depends on how much cereal you had).

To be honest, these aren’t really that amazing. I mean, they’re good and all, but nothing special or unique. But somehow, I’m addicted to them. If I let myself, I would’ve finished them off in one day, eating one after the other. But, I have stronger willpower than that, on occasions.

Nutritional Facts:
Net Wt: 4.06oz (115g)
Serving Size: 15g
Servings: 7.7
Calories: 66
Total Fat: 0.9g
Sat. Fat: 0.3g
Trans Fat: 0g
Cholest: 0mg
Sodium: 33mg
Total Carb: 13.9g
Fiber: 0g
Sugars: 13.9g
Protein: 0.5g
Vitamin A: 5%
Calcium: (It’s either 20% or 2.0%)

Cost:
I bought this for $2.59 at my local market. Buy it at marukaiEstore.com ($3.18), AsianFoodGrocer ($3.58), or jBox ($4.00). Or you can get a mini box version for $1.00 at jBox.

Check out a review by Pocky Watch (who sadly has been inactive for quite a while). And check out the Fujiya website for other delicious treats!

I would hypothetically buy this again –

No Responses Yet to “Review #91: Fujiya Milky 「ミルキー」”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

