Review #92: Country Ma’am Best Hit Collection 「カントリーマアム – ベスト ヒット コレクション」

22Jan11

I’ve seen Country Ma’am cookies on various occasions before this purchase – online and in the store. In my local market, I saw the vanilla flavored one, and it was like 3~5 dollars I think, I don’t remember how much it was exactly. At that time, I wanted to try it, but I wasn’t sure whether I was ready or not. So I stalled for time. But when I saw this on the shelf at Nijiya, I knew I had to have it.

So this is the “best hit collection”. I’m kind of sad that they didn’t have green tea in here, because I’m pretty sure that green tea is a Country Ma’am flavor. On the box it says the year they were “best hit” (I think), so it’s Vanilla – 1980, Darjeeling – 1990 and Strawberry Cheesecake – 2000. Upon opening this, I was a little disappointed at the uneven distribution of flavors. 4 Darjeeling and 4 Strawberry, but only 2 Vanilla. I really hate it/don’t understand why manufacturers do uneven distribution (even when the numbers add up to be even!). How can they just assume that one flavor is better than another?

It’s awesome because it’s a “collection”, so I don’t get just one flavor, but three. There are, of course, the good and bad sides of mixed flavors. The good being I can try more than one, obviously. And the bad, is, what if one is really good and/or another is really bad. Country Ma’am has a lot of flavors, and if you can check out the link at the bottom. Some flavors (besides these) include: Black Sugar, Chocolate Banana, Uji-kintokiRich Chocolate, Pumpkin, Sweet Potato and even Morning Toast.

Taste:

Vanilla Chocochip 「バニラ」
There’s only 2 of these cookies. Which is kind of surprising, because you’d expect vanilla to be more popular, and thus have more. But I guess not in this case. The smell didn’t really smell like vanilla, maybe because it was stuck along with the other two. It did smell like a cookie, but not really smelling any hints of vanilla.

Because I baked it, it wasn’t too hard, but it wasn’t completely soft either. It was soft with a little bit of “crunchy” to it (that’s not the correct term, but it’s the best I can do)

Oh my god. This is probably because I baked it, but the chocolate chips are melty and just divine because they are. (I absolutely recommend baking it!) The taste is sweeter than normal chocolate chip cookies (because of the vanilla), and it definitely does have traces of vanilla. But I wouldn’t say it was like vanilla cake flavor or anything, more subtle like vanilla ice cream, if that makes sense.

Darjeeling Chocochip 「ダージリン」
I was really looking forward to this because I like “exotic” flavors. Or well, I guess not really “exotic”, but more like…”mysterious”. The cool/grown up stuff I guess? I don’t really know how to explain it…I guess it’d be like, wanting to order black coffee instead of mocha in front of peers. Something like that.

The smell on this one is far more detectable. I actually haven’t had darjeeling tea, or at least, not that I know of. I drink a lot of tea when I go out to eat with the family, but to me it’s just tea, I don’t try and figure out the names and stuff. The smell pretty much captures the calming essence of tea. I’m really bad at describing things so I can only hope that you’ve had tea before and so you’ll know that this smells just like tea.

Mmm, delish. There’s a little bit of sweetness from the cookie itself as well as the chocolate chips. And then the tea part of the cookie brings a slight bitterness to it. But not overly so, the two flavors balance one another out. It doesn’t taste exactly like tea that you get from tea leaves, maybe tea that’s from teabags (though I haven’t really drank this kind before). Personally, I think this would have tasted fine without the chocolate chips, but it’s not that big of a deal.

Strawberry Cheesecake Chocochip 「いちごチーズケーキ」
Right before I got to this cookie, I got distracted by the clouds and two roses outside (’cause they were really pretty), so it got a little cold. This one is the obviously most distinctive. It not only smells like strawberry, but it actually smells like strawberry cheesecake. Or at the very least, some kind of strawberry dessert (or it could very well be fake manufactured strawberry).

The taste is pretty good. The strawberry part is actually probably most definitely fake strawberry taste. I was looking forward to this too, so it’s a little disappointing. It’s still good, but not that great. I really love the texture of it being baked. I think the chocolate chip adds well to the taste, making some kind of balance so it’s not overly strawberry.

Nutritional Facts:
The English sticker does the information for the whole thing, so I’ll do the Japanese facts first (since they do it separately for each flavor)
Vanilla 「バニラ」
エネルギー (Energy/Calorie): 49kcal
たんぱく質 (Protein): 0.5g
脂質 (Fat/Lipids): 2.1g
炭水化物 (Carbohydrate): 6.9g
ナトリウム (Sodium): 21mg
Darjeeling「ダージリン」
エネルギー (Energy/Calorie): 50kcal
たんぱく質 (Protein): 0.5g
脂質 (Fat/Lipids): 2.3g
炭水化物 (Carbohydrate): 6.9g
ナトリウム (Sodium): 23mg
Strawberry Cheesecake 「苺チーズケーキ」
エネルギー (Energy/Calorie): 51kcal
たんぱく質 (Protein): 0.5g
脂質 (Fat/Lipids): 2.5g
炭水化物 (Carbohydrate): 6.6g
ナトリウム (Sodium): 25mg
(Now the English, but first, a picture break!)

Mickey Mouse!!!

Net Wt: 3.34oz (95g)
Serving Size: 3pcs (31.5g)
Servings: about 3
Calories/Serving: 150
Total Fat: 7g
Sodium: 69mg
Total Carbo: 21g
Sugars: 19g
Protein: 2g

Cost:
I bought this at Nijiya for $3.79. Buy the Vanilla one at jBox ($6.50). I can’t find it for Darjeeling or Strawberry Cheesecake though, sorry!

Vanilla Review. (Can’t find any for Darjeeling or Strawberry Cheesecake) Check out the website for more flavors.

I actually wouldn’t hypothetically buy these flavors specifically again, but maybe another flavor –


One Response to “Review #92: Country Ma’am Best Hit Collection 「カントリーマアム – ベスト ヒット コレクション」”

  1. 1 prettyprettyyumyum

    Oooooooh! I love the sound of the Darjeeling one. The strawberry one looks interesting but I’m not sure if I would love the flavour??? I was not aware that Country Ma’am came in so many amazing flavours. Black sugar? Morning Toast? Yippee!


Leave a Reply

