Review #94: Age Ichiban Rice Cracker 「揚一番 せんべい」

28Jan11

This is sort of another “sample”. The thing is, my sister got my mom to buy it at Ichiban’kan (in another mall/city) before she left to go back to L.A. But she only took about…half of the bag? And left the rest here.

To be frank, given a shelf full of senbei snacks, this wouldn’t really be one that pops out at me. Something like Happy Turn would be more appealing. But, at the same time, I would be interested because of the brand: Kameda Seika (which is the same brand as Happy Turn). Japanese Snack Review has reviewed quite a lot of Kameda Seika senbei snacks, and they rate fairly high on her scale.

Okay, let’s be more frank now, I actually recommended this to my sister. She saw it and wondered if it was good or not. And I told her it probably was, because it was made by Kameda Seika. But, let’s get the facts straight. Even though I recommended it to her, I still probably would chose something else over this myself.

Taste:
The packaging was a little deceiving. We thought it would be a round ball because of the way it was pictured on the package, but it was actually flat. And if you look more carefully at the picture on the bag, it is, indeed, flat. Then, opening the package, there’s the whole controversy of the individual packaging. It’s good for portion control, but bad for the environment.

I already predicted the taste of this senbei to be the “sweet soy sauce” taste, that most senbeis seem to have in common. And of course, my prediction was not wrong. The smell already induced the sensation of tasting the sweet soy sauce. I really like this senbei. The taste aside, the texture is really good. It’s crispy and crunchy, but it’s not too hard. The balance of sweet and saltiness is pretty perfect. But still, it’s not something I’m going crazy over, seeing as it tastes much like a lot of other senbeis. The thing is, this flavor is common, so I know at one point, I will get tired of it. But not yet, not yet.

Nutritional Facts:
Net Wt:
Serving Size: 4 pieces (30g)
Servings: 5
Calories: 160
Total Fat: 10g
Sat Fat: 3g
Cholesterol: 0mg
Sodium: 221mg
Total Carbohydrate: 18g
Sugars: 2g
Protein: 1g

Cost:
This was pretty expensive, I think it was about $6, but I don’t remember for sure.

One Response to “Review #94: Age Ichiban Rice Cracker 「揚一番 せんべい」”

  1. 1 Tasty Japan

    These are my favourite. But I love the sharepacks the most. :)


Leave a Reply

