Chocolate Wonderland – Crispy Panda 「さくさくぱんだ」

07Feb11

I’ve been dancing around with this product (not literally of course) for months. At the very least, for 5 months. I mean, there wasn’t anything wrong with it, I just…didn’t feel like getting it. Though, I still hung on to the idea of getting it eventually.

There were two different types of boxes on the shelf, and I got this one for obvious reasons. There’s a campaign prize! It’s a cute “Crispy Panda Original Strap”. I think there is supposed to be 1000 winners. Augh. I should have known though, that it’s something you have to text (which means it only applies in Japan with Japanese phones), unless I’m completely wrong. Looking at reviews, I feel like I should have gotten the other box! D;

I find the panda pretty cute, despite his eyes making him seem like he’s drunk or something.

There was a cute comic on the bag, showing you how to draw the panda. The first panel says “お池が ひとつに 山がふたつ”, which is “one pond, two mountains”. The second panel says “お池に 小石を 投げ込むと”, which translates into “throw a pebble into the pond”. The third panel says “うずまきふたつできてきて”, which is like “make two whirlpools” (rough translation). “あというまに さくさくぱんだ”, which is “it is obviously Sakusaku Panda” (this one is a rough translation too).

Taste:

Upon opening, I was already disappointed since I knew it wouldn’t contain much. I suppose this was why I was wary of buying it at first, though I don’t remember for certain. I had 5 different types of panda expressions, and seven total cookies. But there are other expressions.

Though the front is cute, the back reminds of the “The Scream” by Van Gough or like…maybe something from Harry Potter or No Face from Spirited Away OR my imagination of the “Silent Brothers” in the TMI Series (*squeal* The fourth book comes out in April this year!!!)

The taste is pretty good. I like the fact that they used both milk chocolate and white chocolate. It sort of reminds me of the AnPanMan Biscuit I had before (and what a coincidence that I used the same background!). That was good. The biscuit part of the cookie tastes kind of like coconut, which I don’t like too much, but it’s okay. It’s really milky, from the chocolate and the biscuit. The chocolate isn’t too sweet, and the whole cookie balances itself out.

The thing is, this IS pretty good. But, the quantity isn’t so great. I mean, seven cookies? That’s like $.25 per cookie. Using the relative size, I’d say this is overpriced. A single one of these cookies is probably only worth $.10, or $.15 at most. I mean, sure, quality over quantity right. The quality is good, but not good enough that this is worth it.

Nutritional Facts:
Net Wt: 1.3oz (38g)
Serving Size: 38g
Servings: 1
Calories: 165
Total Fat: 0g
Cholesterol: 0mg
Sodium: 21mg
Total Carbohydrate: 5g
Sugars: 2g

Cost:
I bought this at Nijiya for $1.79. Get it at napaJapan(they have various flavors), Tofu Cute (for those in the UK), Asian Food Grocer ($1.88), Tsunami.hk ($4.79) or Starry(again for those in the UK).

Read reviews by Asian Aisle, Tech and Ramen, and Never Turn Down A Cupcake (Caramel Milk flavor).

I do recommend it (only if it were cheaper), and I wouldn’t hypothetically buy it again unless there was more for less. It would be “Nummy”, but because of the quantity –

2 Responses to “Chocolate Wonderland – Crispy Panda 「さくさくぱんだ」”

  1. 1 Tasty Japan

    Hi I enjoyed this one. I also did a review of the caramel milk one if you’re interested.
    http://tastyjapan.blogspot.com/2009/10/kabaya-saku-saku-panda-caramel-milk.html

    I love how you get a little bag with it though, I’ve still got mine! ;) The thing you got to remember I suppose is that it’s much more overseas than it costs in Japan. So it’s probably alright value in Japan but not outside.. :) It’s hard to buy stuff knowing how much it is in Japan sometimes too. Like Tirol, 10 yen or something each but if you buy from overseas they can be up to 75c each.

    • Oh, I missed your review. Haha, well I just read it.

      OMG. I’m so jealous. I didn’t get a bag for mine >( I should have chosen the other box. It MIGHT have had the bag in it. D;

      I know, it’s crazy expensive overseas. But, I feel more in the middle. I mean, I’m not lucky enough to get the “cheap” Japanese prices. But at the very least, I don’t have to deal with the expensive online prices (which cost S&H too).


Leave a Reply

