Chocolate Wonderland – Nameraka Pudding「なめらかプリン」

10Feb11

I have no idea what was going on in my mind when I even considered buying this. I mean, no offense to the design or anything of the sort. But I KNOW that I don’t actually like the taste of purin very much (obviously not well enough though). For those who don’t know, purin is Japanese pudding. BUT, it is NOT the same at all. There’s kind of a…funky taste to it, I suppose. I don’t know, I don’t hate it, but it’s definitely weird every time I taste it. I admit, the box was deceptive. With that purin chef, and the delicious LOOKING picture of purin (both real and the product). Ahh, I’m such a sucker.

Taste:

Oh my gosh, are you serious? Six pieces. That’s even LESS than the Crispy Pandas and this cost more too. Kabaya, you are burning a hole in my wallet. I like the fact that, like the Pandas, this purin chef has different expressions. For me, I only had a total of 4 different expressions though. The :3, the :), the :o and the sleepy smiley face.

Well that’s an utter disappointment as well. It’s SO deformed (Both of the ones I’ve opened so far have been…). Man! D: At the very least, it’s sort of big…bigger than something like Apollo I guess. Maybe 3-4 times the size?

The taste really actually tasted like purin. Which is…a good and bad thing of course. I don’t have much of the “hots” for purin flavor, but in terms of accuracy, it’s good. Okay, I don’t hate purin, and this didn’t taste half-bad for something I don’t like very much. But, just like the last Kabaya product, quantity is the problem.

The outside yellow coating is the “purin” part, and there’s a vanilla cream part inside, and of course the brown milk chocolate caramel part. I like the inside, with the vanilla beans. It reminds me of French Vanilla ice cream, in a way. It’s really sweet, but not sickenly so.

Nutritional Facts:
Net Wt: 1.22 oz (32.8g)
Serving Size: 1 box (34.8g)
Servings: 1
Calories: 214
Total Fat: 16g
Sat Fat: 0g
Trans Fat: 0g
Cholesterol: 0mg
Sodium: 26mg
Total Carbohydrate: 17g
Sugars: 17g
Protein: 2g

Cost:
I bought this at Nijiya for $2.29. Get it at Tsunami.hk ($4.89) or Mel&Rose ($2.75), I think they’re currently out of stock though.

Read a favorable review by ZOMG, Candy! (who had cute, non-deformed looking pieces).

I’m teetering between “Nummy” and “Ehh”. Because, it had a low quantity for a high price (even worse than last time). But….. it did get rated (in terms of taste) as “not half-bad”. Is the power of the taste strong enough to let it have a higher rating?

If you can get it for cheaper, or you’re a big purin fanatic, I recommend giving it a try. Otherwise, you might want to spend your money elsewhere. I wouldn’t hypothetically buy this again.

One Response to “Chocolate Wonderland – Nameraka Pudding「なめらかプリン」”

  1. Kabaya always seem to have such small quantities in their boxes, and it’s always individually wrapped. Wonder why they do that. Are they trying to be so high quality I wonder…or just stingy! Sorry you had a bad experience with the purin. It’s so unlike Western treats right, we always seem to get a lot in the box for the money we pay. The purin look cute, and I have to say I love the purin flavours… but I would baulk at paying too much for 6 very small purin chocolates.


Leave a Reply

