Chocolate Wonderland – Choco Zutsumi 「ちょこずつみ」

17Feb11

I am really looking forward to this. For several reasons. One reason, being that it isn’t manufactured by Kabaya (who has become a little bit of a let down in this department). And the other reason, because all I’ve been having for a while (in terms of reviewing) is candy and cookies. Time to bring out the mochi. Something soft and sweet, neither hard nor crunchy.

The packaging said “ganache” chocolate (ガナッシュチョコレート), but I’m not a big expert on fancy chocolate like ganache. I know they use it often in baking (though it’s usually the coating), so if it’s good in cakes, it should be good in this snack, right?

Taste:
The smell is good, not really good, but still good. It’s kind of like, the chocolate cake batter before you put it in the oven. There are 2 packages of 4 for a total of 8. I like that there are two packages for two reasons. One, it’s more eco friendly that having it individually packaged, and it’s also good for portion control.

Picking up the little ball, it’s harder than I thought. It’s not like the regular mochi I have that’s squishy (though those have “jelly” in it). The mochi isn’t the part that’s hard, but the chocolate ball. Well, hard might not be the right term. More like…more solid that I thought I suppose. Or like…it’s half-way between the smooth chocolate (like Nutella) and the hardness of a chocolate bar. So yeah. I guess it’s because it kind of looked smoother on the front of the box.

The taste is pretty good. The mochi doesn’t add much to the flavor, just the texture, though it wasn’t like I expected it to. The chocolate isn’t as dark as I had hoped though. It isn’t really like milk chocolate, but it definitely isn’t dark chocolate. It’s kind of like milk chocolate pretending to be dark chocolate. Still, the taste is pretty good. But my only problem with this is the hardness of the ganache.

I don’t know. I tried eating another one separately (the chocolate and the mochi). And it’s slightly better I guess. The chocolate inside reminds me of a truffle. And I really love truffles and I really love mochi, but the two just don’t go together. The mochi ruins the taste of the truffle (it made it less dark…though it’s still not dark enough) and the truffle ruins the texture of the mochi.

Nutritional Facts:
Net Wt: 3.22oz (92g)
Serving Size: 1.61oz (46g)
Servings: 2
Calories: 186kcal
Total Fat: 6.2g
Sat Fat: 0.7g
Cholesterol: 0mg
Sodium: 15.5mg
Total Carbohydrate: 31.3g
Dietary Fiber: 0.4g
Sugars: 30.9g
Protein: 1.4g

Cost:
I bought this at Nijiya for $3.49. Buy it at Tsunami.hk ($6.69).

Read a review by Tasty Japan. Or visit the Bourbon website for more nummy treats.

I would probably only hypothetically buy this again if it were just a little bit cheaper –

No Responses Yet to “Chocolate Wonderland – Choco Zutsumi 「ちょこずつみ」”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

