Chocolate Wonderland – Kinako Mochi Tirol「チロルきなこもち」

20Feb11

Yay! This is my 100th review. I wanted to do my 100th review on my blog anniversary day. But it didn’t quite work out. Well, I’m sure if I had worked out the math in the beginning, I could’ve tweaked it so it would happen. But alas, I never knew I would keep up this blog for so long in the first place.

I’ve heard that kinako is a pretty famous flavor in Japan, among other things. For those who don’t know, it’s kind of like peanut butter. Because it’s a nutty flavor. But it’s known as “ground roasted soybean”, I guess. From the reviews I’ve seen of kinako products, it seems to be more peanut butter than soybean.

This is my first time experiencing kinako, but my second Tirol product. Well…technically my fourth Tirol flavor, but in terms of review, it’s my second. The hard thing about knowing a product is that you have expectations. And high expectations usually lead to disappointment. But what can you do to stop expecting, because even if I haven’t read a review, the packaging sets my expectations.

Taste:


Upon opening, I was immediately greeted with a nutty peanut butter smell. No matter how much Wikipedia tries to convince me that it’s “ground roasted soybean”, I’m still going to call it peanut butter. It just smells too much like it. Going off on a tangent, I think there was a phase in my life where I would eat peanut butter straight out of the can…I think, the memory is vague, but it’s there. Well, it was either peanut butter or strawberry jelly. Now, though, I’ve taken a liking to eating Nutella straight out of the jar. It’s sooo good though!

Small whirly, windmill kind of design on the little square. There’s mochi in the middle, but it doesn’t really do much, it’s just there for texture. I really like the flavor though, for some weird reason. Because I don’t usually like nuts with chocolate…well, then again, that’s an actual nut, not nut flavored, but yeah. So this is surprisingly good. It’s basically peanut butter tasting though. Kind of…like peanut butter cookies, only in chocolate form, with mochi.

Nutritional Facts:
Net Wt: 2.37oz (67.4g)
Serving Size: 7.5g
Servings: 9
Calories: 32
Total Fat: 2g
Sat Fat: 0g
Trans Fat: 0g
Cholest: 0mg
Sodium: 3mg
Total Carb: 4g
Sugars: 4g
Protein: 1g

Cost:
I bought this for $2.19 at Nijiya. Get it at napaJapan(four pieces at $2.79) or Tsunami.hk(pack of 9 for $5.29).

Read a review by Tasty Japan. Here’s a “premium” version (though I’m not sure if there’s much of a difference, and a “grilled premium” version (this has bits of rice puffs inside) – both by Japanese Snack Reviews. And another tiny review of the “grilled premium” version by Pocky Watch.

I wouldn’t mind eating this again if it was in a share pack, but I’m not inclined to buying a whole bag of just these flavors again –

No Responses Yet to “Chocolate Wonderland – Kinako Mochi Tirol「チロルきなこもち」”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

