Chocolate Wonderland – Sweets Torte Chocolate Tart 「スイーツトルテ 仕立のタルトショコラ」

23Feb11

(There’s no overall picture today, because I took a really crappy picture and I didn’t have time to retake it, so sorry! Here’s a different picture though).

I think I first saw this in L.A, or not. Maybe I saw it here before I went to L.A, whichever and whenever the case, I was always attracted to the dessert that presented itself on the box. There’s actually a different flavor that I’m more enticed to, but they didn’t have it at Nijiya, so I had to settle for this one, second best.

Hearing chocolate tartlet reminds me of this Konapun video I saw, but I personally thought it was not delicious looking, so I won’t show it here (there’s a link though). I mean, the other Konapun cooking videos looked cool, most of them, but this particular one didn’t.

Taste:

I certainly don’t remember what I was expecting, but it wasn’t this. I didn’t expect it to be individually packaged. I think I kind of thought it would be like cookies covered with chocolate in a tray. Which is a reminder that I should actually look at the box before I buy things/start eating. I mean, even though I run this blog now, there are still times when I actually forget to check. Old habits – I used to never check. But now, I have reason to, but I still forget to do it.

It claims to be a “cake in chocolate” 「ケーキ in チョコ」, we’ll see about that.

I like the design on the chocolate, makes it seem regal…or hotel-like, whatever floats your boat. Oh, this is so good, despite me biting myself on the tongue due to carelessness. I did not expect the chocolate (it’s not really a cookie but) biscuit part in the middle. Of course, if I had looked at the box, I wouldn’t be so surprised. The chocolate is good. It’s not really dark chocolate, but it’s not milk chocolate either. Milk chocolate with slightly dark undertones I suppose. It’s smooth and melts away fairly easily.

(Off on a totally strange and uncalled for tangent, I’m really enjoying eating this piece of chocolate and typing this review (for the second time actually because the stupid internet didn’t save all this stuff I wrote 3 minutes ago), and listening to music from Spirited Away. It’s like, drinking a cup of hot chocolate with marshmallows while sitting next to the fireplace and watching a favorite film on a dark stormy winter night. Of course, it doesn’t snow where I live and I don’t have a fireplace, but I can still dream.)

The biscuit…well, I wouldn’t really call it a biscuit either. I don’t know what to call it. Because the thing is, it’s really airy. There’s nothing, no real substance, within it. It doesn’t really add to the flavor though, I don’t think. Or maybe it does, perhaps it’s the dark undertones to the chocolate, I don’t really think so though. Anyhow, all it really does is add to the texture. Well, not that even, seeing as it’s so airy. Okay, the thing is, it’s fresh, it’s new, it’s unique, at least for me. And that’s why I like it so much (not really, I just like it, no reason).

It’s not really a cake in chocolate…more like a biscuit in chocolate. Unless the airy (feathery) part was supposed to represent a fluffy cake.

It’s also not that big of a fat whopper, only 75 calories for two pieces. Well, I’m not too good at the whole calories thing, but I think it’s pretty okay.

Nutritional Facts:
Net Wt: 2.36oz (67g)
Serving Size: 2 pieces (13.4g)
Servings: 5
Calories: 75
Total Fat: 5g
Sat Fat: 0.5g
Cholesterol: 0g
Sodium: 10mg
Total Carbohydrates: 7g
Sugars: 7g
Protein: 1g

Cost:
I bought this at Nijiya for $3.99. You can get it at Tsunami.hk ($7.99), but they’re currently out of stock.

It was a little bit pricy, but definitely worth every morsel –


No Responses Yet to “Chocolate Wonderland – Sweets Torte Chocolate Tart 「スイーツトルテ 仕立のタルトショコラ」”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

