Review #103: Ground Potato – Male Salt 「大地のポテト おすしお味」

01Mar11

I saw this the last time I went to Japantown, but I didn’t get it. Because I didn’t want to crush it before getting home, so yeah.  I was attracted to this chip the first time because of a chip bag I saw online. It looked delicious, and this, is not the same, but looks similar.

I didn’t really buy this at the local market, I mean, it’s the same franchise, but different location. I went to this different location in search of a different candy, but in the end, they didn’t have it.

Male Salt. Yeah, I don’t know what flavor this is exactly, and male salt’s the funniest, so that’s why it’s the title. I don’t know, because there’s no space or kanji, it could be read several ways, “おす しお” (which is something salt, I tried looking it up, but the only NOUN I could find is “male”, the verb’s dictionary form is push). It could also be read “おすし お味” (which would be “sushi flavor”…but there’s no indication of sushi). Does anybody know what flavor this is???

Taste:
It’s doesn’t smell like anything, which I guess it’s not supposed to, if it’s just salt flavored. The taste is kind of…bland, I suppose. It isn’t really strongly saltly, which makes me lean towards thinking it’s sea salt flavored. I don’t know though, maybe it’s just me.

The chips are pretty crispy/crunchy. But not too much, because the actual chip is kind of airy and light, so you can’t get too much of a crunch anyhow.

It’s still pretty good, and it had more than I expected (even though the bag was half full of air, there was still a pretty good amount of chips in it). But, one thing for sure, is to watch the calories. &the Nutritional Facts are kind of strange, it says there’s calcium&vitamin C in here…

Nutritional Facts:
Net Wt: 2.39oz (68g)
Serving Size: 34g
Servings: 2
Calories: 200
Total Fat: 13g
Sat Fat: 4g
Trans Fat: 0g
Cholesterol: 0mg
Sodium: 85mg
Total Carbohydrate: 17g
Dietary Fiber: 1g
Sugars: 16g
Protein: 2g
Calcium: <2%
Vitamin C: 10%
Iron: 4%

Cost:
I bought it for $1.29.

This is the website.

If I’m ever need for a relatively cheap bag of chips, I would consider buying this. It’s kind of plain, so I wouldn’t really recommend it over something else –

3 Responses to “Review #103: Ground Potato – Male Salt 「大地のポテト おすしお味」”

  1. 1 prettyprettyyumyum

    oooooooh! Yum. I found a definition for the usu part on jisho うす mill-stone; mortar, which makes me wonder if it’s meant to be liek milled salt or rock salt?

  2. As far as I know you read it usushio, hubby said it’s just the standard salt flavour in Japan. I don’t think it has anything to do with guys though. :)

  3. 3 ebidebby

    I think the usu might be as in usui, as in weak or thin, meaning lightly salted. I’ve never been really fond of Japanese chips, either. Calbee makes yummy curry chips, though!


Leave a Reply

