Review #104: Botan Rice Candy 「ぼたんあめ」

08Mar11

Why is it that when I have nothing to review, I also have nothing to do online and want to write reviews. But when I finally have things to review, I find other things to do (watching Kuroshitsuji and House M.D – I’m on season 4). Anyways, that’s my excuse for posting this a day late.

I’ve seen this candy way before I started this blog. But I’ve always waived it off thinking it would just taste like the White Rabbit candy (which was like my childhood candy). However, since I’ve started this blog, I’ve wanted to give it a try, but I could never bring myself to do it. Finally, this free sticker was enough of an incentive to get me to break out that dollar bill.

I thought the sticker would be lame, but I was wrong. It’s actually pretty cute. I’m glad I picked this box! :D

Taste:
I don’t understand why it’s pink. I mean, “rice candy” generally, one would think of white, wouldn’t you? I mean, have you ever heard of pink rice?! (don’t answer that, I think I know the answer) Pink – or any color really – signifies fruit though, doesn’t it?

According to Wikipedia, it’s supposed to be a lemon-orange flavor. That doesn’t even make any sense. And “botan” means peony in Japanese. That makes even LESS sense.

And that’s what it turned out to be…kind of. It’s like sweet in the juicy sense. But it’s also really….I don’t know how to describe it. Like fruit juice+rice…really gross. It doesn’t really taste like any ONE thing. I don’t know. I suppose it would be fruit, but it has a grainy rice texture – sort of.

I have nothing really to say about it. It’s gross. Uck.

Nutritional Facts:
Net Wt: 21g (3/4oz)
Serving Size: 6 pieces (21g)
Servings: 1
Calories: 80
Total Fat: 0.5g
Sodium: 0mg
Total Carbohydrate: 18g
Sugars: 8g
Protein: 0g

Cost:
Only $.99, bought it with the chips. Buy it at Asian Food Grocer ($1.19), Amazon ($.89), or Very Asia ($.99).

Check out reviews by Jason Santa Maria, Candy Blog, Flak Mag, and Candy Addict.


No Responses Yet to “Review #104: Botan Rice Candy 「ぼたんあめ」”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

