Review #106: Happy White Day!

14Mar11

At least, it was supposed to be… This sucks, but hopefully things will start to look up soon. :(

I keep wanting to say “yogurtfrul” when it’s missing the t. Why is it so hard to pronounce – or remember to pronounce at the very least.

Tasty Japan told me last time that cassis was probably black currant. I wanted to do more research on it, but nothing really comes up on google. I believe that it’s black currant, but now I’m curious as to why it’s called cassis on the packaging and yet I can’t find much traces of it on the internet.

I would think it’s just one of those weird katakanas that come from Germany or whatever (like アルバイト, which is part time job), but even that should come up on the internet. Well, my awesome online Japanese dictionary says that it’s “black currant; Cassis (French black currant) liqueur”.

Taste:
I’ve never tried blackcurrant, as a fruit, not that I know of at least. But I have had it a few times (or once…..) as a candy. As far as I can remember, it didn’t taste like anything special. Not blueberry…though I have to think maybe grape – but good grape.

Very berry. I like it. Yogurty flavor for sure. It’s mostly bluberry flavor that shines through, but there’s also a hint of something that’s not exactly blueberry. Making it less blueberry like, but still mostly so. If that’s not entirely redudant. There’s a kind of refreshing taste to it – like a mint that freshens your breath. You know, how it leaves that squeaky clean feeling. I like the texture of Kanro. Soft so that it melts without much chewing unlike Hi-Chew (which reminds me, I haven’t had some in a while), but not too sticky like caramel. Because I absolutely hate when things get stuck to my teeth, it’s so annoying. Kanro is fabulous.

Nutritional Facts:
Net Wt: 1.93oz (55g)
Serving Size: 5.5g
Servings: 10
Calories: 24
Total Fat: 0g
Cholesterol: 0mg
Sodium: 3mg
Total Carbohydrate: 5g
Sugar: 4g

Cost:
I bought this at Nijiya for $1.99. You can get it at Mel&Rose($2.25) or Tsunami.hk($5.19).

Kanro website.

To be honest, it’s not that good that I need to hoard it…but it’s still pretty damn good –

PS: I’m getting kind of broke. And also, schools’ bogging down my schedule, so I don’t have time to go to Japantown a lot. So from now on until…summer (maybe), I’ll be posting every four days instead of 3.

No Responses Yet to “Review #106: Happy White Day!”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

