Review #107: Jyagariko「じゃがりこ」

18Mar11

I hate when I don’t have enough to type to include all the pictures, because they’d all be clumped together. Anyways, three pictures on my new Flickr account (created for future purposes of this happening). There’s this super cute giraffe, who says “食べだしたらキリンがない”. Apparently, it’s a pun. The first part “食べだしたら” says “If you start to eat”. And “キリンがない” means “there is no giraffe”. Put it together and you get, “If you start to eat, there is no giraffe”. But there is one, right there, it’s the mascot. It’s supposed to be “きりがない” which means “without end”.

Then there’s this really cute bar code which is celebrating the 15th Anniversary (15周年).

And I’m pretty sure there’s a cute picture behind this stupid sticker. But there’s no way I can peel it off without leaving residue or ruining the picture entirely.

Taste:
I bought this, as I said, mainly because I was hoping it would taste similar to Jagabee. It certainly looks similar, both inside and out. The only real obvious difference, upon only looking, is that these are more cylindrical – as well as dotted with green specks.

Eating provides more of a difference. There’s a definite difference in texture. Jagabee was softer, less crunchy. I mean, it was still a bit crunchy, but not as much as these. Not that it’s a problem or anything.

Moving on to the taste. It certainly doesn’t taste like Jagabee. Only slightly, because of the “potato ness”. But it doesn’t have the french fry taste that Jagabee had. I can definitely taste the potato and butter part (It claims to be made with Hokkaido butter). It doesn’t taste too much like a buttered potato though. I used to love eating buttered potatoes during Thanksgiving dinner. I would say this one has a slightly more subtle butter taste. Or rather, it’s not as salty. But that could be appointed to the fact that I basically drowned my potato in butter (that’s not true actually).

I love the crunch and I love the taste, but it’s still not good as the Jagabee, it comes close though. One thing I’m sure about, Calbee makes great chips.

Nutritional Facts:
Net Wt: 2.03oz (58g)
Serving Size: 2.03oz (58g)
Servings: 1
Calories: 293
Total Fat: 14.5g
Sat Fat: 2.2g
Trans Fat: 0g
Cholesterol: 0mg
Sodium: 252mg
Total Carbohydrate: 37g
Dietary Fiber: 2.4g
Sugars: less than 35g
Protein: 3.7g

Cost:
I bought this for $2.49. You can get it at Very Asia($2.59), Marukai e-Store($2.48), or various flavors at napaJapan, or just this one ($2.99).

Check out the Calbee website (English).

It was good, but still not as good as Jagabee, and it was a bit expensive. I might find myself buying the other flavor though when I go back to Japantown, if it’s still there –


No Responses Yet to “Review #107: Jyagariko「じゃがりこ」”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

